Chronicles of Alan : My Friend Brian O. #3

in #cars7 years ago (edited)

One day Brian calls me, very excited.

" Alan , I have found a crashed Lamborghini Miura S lying at a Garage - Filling Station in Krugersdorp ! Can you give me a lift?"

I did not need any encouragement, collected him , and off we go!

When you are always working on cars , you often have yours not running as you are doing further mods to it!

There were very few of these in South Africa, some unnamed idiot , had responded to his Girlfriends, " May I drive it Darling?" and straight into the side of an overpass on the Johannesburg-Pretoria Highway she went!

I can only trust she became an ex-Girlfriend but who can explain how a fellow will react to the wiles of a Woman?

Brian purchased the Car for a paltry R13,500, The Garage owner gave me a part for my Hot Beetle I had been looking for, and we arranged to have it towed to his house in Discovery ( next to Florida where I stayed)

The Bonnet and lights were wrecked and the cost of importing a Front End for it was prohibitive.

Brian found a Doctor in Pretoria who had one , and the first thing he had done was pulled a mould of all the sections.

From this we were able to make a Fibreglass Bonnet ( original was aluminium as I recall). Porsche 928 Headlamps were the same sort of tilt up type and were very close to the originals.

Brian resprayed the car Red of course? , it looked great, sounded better, and did 65mph in first Gear!

Not long and Brian was going on about the Car not being original ( fibreglass ) and wanted to cut the Body off and make it into a superfast Beetle.

Like me a big VW fan, anyhow , I dissuaded him and he sold it to a car collector for about R45,000 , a steal!

Not a year went by and someone contacted him from Europe and offered him a Half Million Rand , sight unseen!

Quite naturally, this caused a somewhat depressed mood to come on him, for a while.

Hint for the next post on Brian , look back at the Gale Banks motor mods I posted in the first one on Brian.

But there is lots more to come!

Sort:  

AWESOME car.

You got a 17.35% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @fproductions!

lovely classic car

its symbol of classic people and you are one of the classic steemian...

have a great day..

Wonderful car.you a great bloger .resteem your post.

Thank You!

fantastic car collection awesome vedio.

The knowledge is in his head, the money in his pocket!! So good job your friend did!
About the vids; PERFECT.... what a powercar

Amazing post @awgbibb thanks for sharing

Excellent collection of cars!
They are so attractive!
I enjoy watching those videos)
It's amazing post @awgbibb
Thanks for sharing

It's a great stylish car ever @awgbibb

Ahh! LOL , This cars are dating type and stylish where you can enjoy with girlfriend, which you lately found as EX @awgbibb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55