Chronicles of Alan : My Friend Brian O. #2

in #cars7 years ago (edited)

Brian had a VW Squareback as his Family Car , Beautiful Ferrari Red in Colour with an all aluminium, Rover 3.5 V8 in the rear ( Buick V8 to Americans)

Ported , Gas-Flowed , Branches 4 -Barrel Holly Carb , Iskendarian High performance camshaft.

and Quicker than the Porsche Model below!

My posting below refers to something else Brian built.

https://steemit.com/motorcycles/@awgbibb/jet-powered-motorcycles

I recall Brian picking me up with this Stationwagon and we were going to the races at Kyalami Race Track .

We were doing about 120 MPH and a Mustang Mach 1 suddenly pulled in front of us, Brian hit the brakes and all I felt was a Vibration?

" Brian , do you still have the Standard drum Brakes on this car?"

Response " Yes, I never drive fast where I need Brakes!" that terrified me, "You never know where you need Brakes, they are for emergencies!"

Anyhow , I was busy with a Volkswagen Fastback, that I wanted to do a Twin turbo Rover V8 in the rear ( it had been an automatic) I took the Front Suspension out of it , gave it to Brian , scrapped the project , but now he had Disc front brakes on his car!

Brian built a number of Drag Racing Cars for various People and himself

Among them was a Fiat 600 with a bored and stroked type 4 Volkswagen Engine, using a VW Gearbox.this ended up as a 2.5 litre!( from 1.7 litre)

The Motor used Chevy Pistons , Chrysler Hemi Valves and a Stroker Crankshaft that a friend of his made up from Billet.

He had 2 bodies, one with virtually no suspension, used for Drag Racing and the other more road friendly , would switch the motor around dependent on what he was doing.

The Kawasaki 900 came out about this time and the Fiat would out accelerate it from a Traffic light up to 110mph ( it's top speed due to the small diameter wheels!) turned at 8500rpm , Did Wheelies !

All Videos are courtesy of YouTube, they are not the actual cars mentioned but are to give you an idea of the appearance.

There is a lot more to come, Brian got more and more ambitious with his projects , and was hired to build car's by others and even built some Kit Cars that others marketed!

You Petrol Heads should enjoy this?

Sort:  

Amazing post thank you so much for sharing

Great collections of cars

I go for the 911. When steem will be $1000 this is on my top 5 list... lol

One needs to have Goals?, I look forward to that day too!

I like your post because you always give information about old cars

Wow, a great article and as always you surprise us with something new and not ordinary in the world of cars. Thank you for the interesting video @awgbibb

My Pleasure,Thanks!

Excellent collection of cars, i really enjoy watching all videos, especially Porsche 911 SC test drive is so impressive, thanks for sharing

My Pleasure!

awesome vedio of car n great collection@awgbibb

very cool story love the use of video and the bit about the brakes is priceless you saved your friends life in the future. Speed is only good if you can stop to enjoy it the next day. You have a new follower in me I love car stories.

Glad to hear it, Thanks!

incredible car's indeed, they looks so powerful and beautiful, thanks a lot for sharing with us these great car's videos.

Appreciated!

awesome collection frnd i like black listed car .

Nice car

Thank you @awgbibb for sharing this psot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55