Chronicles of Alan: Cars I have Owned/ Loved- Jaguars

in #cars7 years ago

All Videos , Courtesy of Youtube.

I will do another Story on My Beetles, which preceded this.

At about 22 years old I saw a Jaguar MK 1 3.4 looking Tatty standing in a parking place down in Florida with a 4 Sale sign on it .

As I recall they wanted R350.00 for it , I made an offer and was the Proud Owner for the Magnificent sum of R250.00, which may sound cheap , but not when you earned R65.00 per Month! 4 speed Box with Overdrive!

Used it for a while , resprayed it in what should have been Dove-Gray, but ended up being a painfully bright white, with a terribly rough finish!

Went extremely well , mine was the Standard Model with Large Drum Brakes all around , BTW the Special Equipment Model was the Worlds first Saloon Car with 4 wheel Disk Brakes! ( I later owned one) Melted the Wheel Bearing Grease a couple of times ( The way I used to drive)

I dropped a valve on this car , smashing a hole through the piston , hardly noticing a drop in performance, did the head over with new valves , new rings , new bearings etc and ran it in for 1000 miles.

Unfortunately this took place as Chris and I got married, so for our Wedding, I did not have a car!

Hence My World Famous Definition of a Bachelor! " A Guy who does not know he has any faults".

When I finished Running the Motor in, I could not believe the difference in performance, it pulled better in 4th Gear , than it had in 3rd, before!

I subsequently obtained a SE Model 3.4 and still later a 2.4 Mk1 which Chris used for many years, dead reliable.

Below is a Specially built Performance Model .Although I am featuring Videos of MK 2's most of mine were Mk1's which had smaller windows and ( dare I say it) less rattles.

Nevertheless the Jaguar MK 2 was the go to Saloon Racing Car for Many years .

Here is a MK2 showing it's paces in a Hill Climb!

I will continue this subject with My Mk2 which was one of the fastest cars on the roads of SA despite it's age when I owned it!

Hope this appeals to you Motoring Fans?

Sort:  

My dad LOVES Jags!! He restored a 1969 Mk1 XJ6 (manual). Amazing car!!! 😆

I had a couple of XJ 6 Models as well!

Whaaaaat? The XJ6 is probably my dad's favourite car of all time - he wanted one since he was a primary school kid 😉

This is really the dream jaguar man.....i am getting jealous now after watching this video......and in my dreaming i am dreaming to own such a car one day....

steem on...& stay blissful....

I've had two jaguars over the last 14 years XJ6 for 11 and now I have a XF both very nice but I think I prefer the XJ6

I love the XJ6

Nice! Glad for you.

Classic jaguars!!!

wow it's amazing Jaguar MK 2. nice post.......

Thank You.

I have little afinity with the jags from the old days. I like them but would never wanne own one. The new jags on the other hand look way better. But that is my personal opinion ofcourse.

Shows you we are all different?, I think the MK2 Jaguar is the Best Looking Saloon car ever made!

That i need to agree. A nice saloon on weels :)

These cars are wonderful! I'm glad you could see that jaguar

Thank You, me too.

Thank you too!

I have no bunghole!

Ha ha :)) You are very funny. Upvote my posts and I will give you bunghole

The principal! He will give me TP! I would hate for my bungholio to get polio....Where I come from, we have no bunghole.

I am the Great Cornholio! I'm a gringo!

maximum time i come to show your post...and try to upvote you.....your posts are always awesome...........nice car man..

Thank You.

Carry on bro...hopefully everybody will enjoy this@awgbibb

Hope so! Thanks.

now that was the real beauty i was looking for

Glad you found it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25