You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The daunting task of my basement remodel into a wood shop Post 1

in #carpentry7 years ago

I had an uncle who went through the same process and found a way to make it pay off nicely. He got old, weathered barnwood and sawed each piece to thin it and then planed and finished it before staining it. The wood was absolutely beautiful! He joined the smaller pieces and sold it to violin and mandolin builders. Old wood is a great resource!

Sort:  

I indeed agree old wood is beautiful, Just have to smooth it out to see it. This wood is white oak with some very dark streaks in the grain. It is going to look fabulous once it is varnished or shellac, I am not sure which yet. Anytime I see someone ready to burn a pile of wood here that has lengths longer then a foot I try to grab it.

I know the feeling about old wood. There was an 1870s four room home on the perimeter of our land that had been unused for fifty years, and for hay storage before that. ll of a sudden, the owner decided he didn't want it and bulldozed it and burn it to ashes one Saturday afternoon. All that beautiful wood up in smoke! I coulda throttled the guy. I would have cleared it away just for the wood! Ahhh... it comes from a lack of understanding, I guess. I built a set of oak stairs a few years back and have a stack of random pieces of 1" oak that really is not useful but I can't throw it out. Someday, there will be a use for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66687.09
ETH 3585.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.04