You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revolution in the Volunteer State?

in #carol6 years ago

Hey Steve. I enjoy that you enjoy this, but it seems similar to how people enjoy sports, or reality TV shows, or following celebrities, etc. I don't give much attention to it all since it doesn't really impact my daily life at all compared to my day-to-day, voluntary decisions. I appreciate those who think political action is the answer, but for me, I think the long-term answer is recognizing they have no real justification to make decisions for others anyway without voluntary consent.

I don't give my consent to be ruled or governed.

I instead use my time building things like @eosDAC in hopes to make governments irrelevant.

I remember when Carol Swain came to our LOTR meetup and I asked her a simple question, "What does conservatism mean to you?" (she introduced herself as proudly conservative). Unfortunately she had too many hands to shake to answer the question or engage with an anarchist-leaning thinker like me. :)

Sort:  

I see this as a paradigm shift, in which if it succeeds I may not have to keep on eye on what scam they have found to steal more property taxes (which I pay with my rent?) quite as much. I also see Carol as a citizen states(wo)man, not a careerist politician, which would also be a blessing. I am far less concerned about her conventional "party leanings" than about her commitment to making local governance work.

BNTW, I finally got to meet and talk at some length with jeff obafemi carr last night. VERY impressed with the man, and less certain by a bit that Carol Swain would be the best choice for the job. At the moment, though, I see her network as being a little more able to being the money and such to bear to mount a serious campaign in two weeks.

I have since come to the realization that I would so much rather see jeff obafemi carr either taking that seat or at least moving on to the runoff. I am really hoping his approach is successful, and I am also prepared to back either him or Dr. Swain, whichever the runoff challenger is. (I also hope to see us closing ranks either way.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55