DIGITAL CARICATURE - BILLY IDOL

in #caricature6 years ago

A BLACK AND WHITE (DIGITAL PAINTING) CARICATURE OF BILLY IDOL


BILLY IDOL COVER copy.jpg


I'm not really a fan of Billy Idol. But he was such a big name in the music world and he got that unique facial features that I couldn't resist to to get my hand on. Wow, that came out wrong. I mean, well.. you know what I mean. Every caricature artist must have drawn him at least once, I think. I don't consider myself a caricature artist, but I love caricature art so I do it from time to time just for the pure pleasure of it.


THE REFERENCE PHOTO:

*source: http://www.themontrealeronline.com/2015/01/billy-idol-metropolis/

THE PROCESS:

The first thing I do before I starts to paint or draw is; stares into nothing for a few minutes. Planning.

WOWL-HEAD-GIF.gif

I'm starting this one on a (digital) black canvas.

1.jpg

By using a wide brush stroke, I paint the shape that I wanted for his head.

2.jpg

And roughly blocking his facial form to put everything into place. This technique is very similar to sculpting.

3.jpg

The fun part is exaggerating the face to the point of extremely ridiculous proportions.

4.jpg

The challenging part is to keep and maintain the likeness of your subject and at the same time making the distorted face to somehow look just right for them.

5.jpg

The process from here...

6.jpg

..to...

7.jpg

..here is just the detailing on the face using a smaller brush strokes. The canvas is zoomed in the this process and i'm painting all the small facial details in close-ups.

8.jpg

For the first layer of his hair, I use a thick brush.

9.jpg

On the second layer, I refine the hair using a thinner brush with a little more control than the first layer.

10.jpg

Finishing this with a little touch-ups on the hairline and his forehead with some soft shading on the hair.


FINAL IMAGE:

I masked the final image with grainy textures with a light sepia tinge.

11.jpg


PROCESS GIF:

BILLY-IDOL-PROCESS-GIF.gif


Thank you for dropping by!

- oRen! -

WO-OWL BANNER copy.png

Sort:  

/ᐠ=ᆽ=ᐟ\

ฅ/ᐠ。ᆽ。ᐟ\

Hehe funny it makes me laugh :D

Syok tengok burung ni..
DQmeJ9W5VaTka3ymZGwwbkixECecAFWibWiT3AiDoZtCxL2.gif

Cool, the good old Billy :) Some tiers more in the image evolution and it could become the "joker" :D

Haha! Yes, I can see that now. I think he would make a sick Joker. Thank you, @blue-dragon! :D

A two-faced man@orenisme

A two-faced man?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53