What you can do for the Caribbean after this Hurricane Season...The kind of answer we all can enjoy

in #caribbean7 years ago

Today as the buzz around the impact of Hurricane Harvey, Jose, Irma and Maria fades and the governments throughout the Caribbean tries to find solutions, I ask myself what I can do? What solutions can I offer? As a Caribbean man to my heart, I don't see nationality or borders, I see my brothers and sisters separated from each other by water. We share a unique history, one that blends us together. Having been to several Caribbean islands and noticing the sharp physical similarities often mistaking a complete strange for a friend I know, I am driven in my stance to see the Caribbean as a whole rather than separate. It is base on this basis, I bleed, I bleed because we have suffered a great lost this hurricane season. I have suffered great loss, my brothers and sisters have suffered great loss but I am confident we would get up from our sorrow, wipe our tears and greet you with the warmest smile when you and your family decide to visit.

So what can I do?

Its a question I have been asking myself, and I finally came up with a creative answer. Probably its an answer you would least expect but its an answer that you would thoroughly enjoy. Today I don't want to focus on the negatives, I want to look forward and look at the positives. My answer to you is an invitation.

Today I want to invite you to one of the greatest celebration on Earth, its called Carnival. It is one of the celebration that epitomize the resilience of my people. Its colorful, its beautiful, its rhythm and its awesome vibes.

So you may ask what the heck is Carnival? My simple answer to you, "its where you bring out your dancing shoes".

Carnival in the Caribbean literally translate into freedom and celebration. It is remembered as liberation from our colonial masters and the freedom to charter our own future and identity. Each islands brings its own unique features and each one always boast of having the best Carnival in the World. The Carnival season in the Caribbean starts in the Month of February and runs all the way to August with each island having up two weeks of celebration.

Carnival expresses the melting pot of culture that exist in the Caribbean, highlighting our African, European, East Indians and Indigenous way of life. Both men and women dress into customs usually expressing a theme or showcasing a cultural dance or drama. Everyone enjoys the party, with children taking center stage when given the opportunity.

The musical expression is known as Calypso and Soca, with artist pumping lyrics to some of the most teasing beats you would come across. Now I am going to share with you a music video of a Soca artist known as Tallpree with his song "Jab All Over".
FYI: Jab Jab is another feature of the Carnival that is unique to the island of Grenada. Now let me shut up and tease you with this video

I hope that I would have spark your interest and you found my "What can I do?" answer your next step towards visiting the one of these Caribbean islands to enjoy the Carnival celebration. An if you are up to the task, you can jump from island to island from February all to way to August to enjoy the varying Carnival celebration. Your visit brings in lots of revenue and its probably the greatest way to say "I STAND STRONG WITH YOU AND I AM SUPPORTING YOU"

Please remember to hit the upvote and resteem...
(I take no credit for any of the photos, they were randomly taken from varying Carnival celebration)

I also welcome your crypto tips during my rebuilding process
Bitcoin Address: 1Cau9AhRnfeVjr8cuJzdMEtAiJUP1JNdmK
Ethereum Address: 0xfe15B672805875454fC113B564F32ccD8A17c94A
Litecoin Address: LV4iqkB59mKfZ6M7LT8xfstkixyMNCqJQX
Dash Address: XjpnisZY2jCj4BUJ7coAsZ6wrgqQT8Krrk

Sort:  

I feel for Yall! But staying strong in these times is most needed, cheering up a bit does well... And you know you have my #support bro! Thank you, all the good people helping @daudimitch getting his life back on track after this horrible disaster!

Much love coming your way!

One love brother
Nuff respect, love, peace and prosperity to you

I agree with this!
As a booth holder last Sint Maarten carnival I've never seen so many cultures together fettin the night away.

If you see what carnival awakens in peoples hearts...

Im resteeming this, looking forward to next season already after this drama

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82