Career and Profession

Embracing Change In Your Career and General Life (Part A)images (22).jpgGoogle

Are you one of those who are scared of
accepting change in their professional and general lives? If yes, then obviously you don't know the benefits that come with embracing change, be it professional, personality or attitudinal change. There is always a reward in anticipating change and adjusting to it accordingly.

But unfortunately most people find it difficult stepping out of their comfort zones because they get accustomed to old habits and lifestyles.

Why are People so afraid of Change?

True most of us dream big and desire to have absolute control over our destiny to attain greater height. But we often find the changes that come with such dreams and desire very intimidating to embrace, as a result we lean towards settling for less. Therefore, the question that begs answer is - why are people so scared of change?

There are four basic reasons why people are so scared of embracing change, let's take a look at them below:

  1. Fear of the unknown: What will happen to my job, my organization, my life, as I know it now? How safe will my future be if I accept this change?
  1. Fear of losing control of your destiny: You tend to ask yourself, what should I do? Should I embrace the wind of change at my workplace and accept the new decisions that have no guarantee of a safe future? Am I not better off where I now? At least I'm comfortable and know what to expect. While asking yourself those questions.

  2. Fear of being inadequate: Will I be able to execute or be efficient at my new task? Can I meet up with the demands of the changes? And if I can't, what becomes of me then?

  1. Fear of moving outside your own comfort zone: I have been here all my life, i have friends and family here plus I have been comfortably doing my job this way for years now. Is there any need to accept this change that is going to alter everything that I have gotten used to over the years.

As a way of providing answers to the above questions, I will like you to ponder on this popular phrase, "No Risk No Reward".

And that will be that for Part A, so watch out for Part B that promises to be more interesting and enlightening.

Until then, I remain my humble self @Terrywrites….

Sort:  

Congratulations @terrywrites! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50