You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Resume Review Content Results and Learnings

in #career7 years ago

You have definitely given me some food for thought.

I am almost scared to look at resume tips online now. If you look enough, you start seeing disagreements between the different advice.

I have an overview section. I suppose I need to rethink if I want it there, but in the sense that HR does skim, it does tell the broad arc of my story in very little space.

Sort:  

Yea, you'll get different opinions. At the end of the day, the opinions are subjective. You either communicate clearly, or you don't. So, I think an Overview/Objection section be used very powerfully if its acting as a conclusion to the story the recruiters will find in the meat of your resume.

If that story is clear enough in your experience and education, you probably don't need it though. As a hiring manager, I'm pretty sure I don't read the overview or focus on it vs the meat-and-potatoes of the experience and schooling.

It is reassuring to hear that you are a hiring manager. I might have missed that above.

Thanks for the reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65