Poker Face

in #cardgame6 years ago

Image Source | Photo Owner | Image License CC0


Poker Face

BY Sir Poem A. Lot

The dealer flashes his skils as he hands out these colored papers,
I slowly arrange them like weaving a cloth
No smile, no frown as quiet as can be
As my elbow slightly hits the stacked coins on the side

Noises everywhere, girls giggling and men act like boys and hackle
The sounds of coins and slot machine mean nothing to me,
My friends gulping heavily as I don't break sweat

There is restlessness in the room,
Heavy breathing as faces and numbers appears on the board
Sweeping flashes and straits flying everywhere.

As I lay myself slow and carefully collecting myself in the on the table.
These symbols of faces and numbers in red and black
The grail of fortune telling and tell-tale prophecies

Men in front me stand up as cards come flying everywhere.
They shout, they point and glare at me.
I look at them with dead eyes.
No smile no frown as quiet as can be
as I grab the little of what they own that's left.

Poem Source: Original Work


Image Source | Photo Owner | Image License CC0

Commentary

After a review of a classic art in the form of L'Absinthe and poem by Robert Frost out comes a new of my Original works

I've been pondering about me explaining my poems which in a way kinda spoils it. I know I don't have much followers but I believe as I gain more followers people would naturally look at my older works and appreciate it more and so for that I decided to abstain from explaining my own work and will leave the exploring to my current and future readers.

This poem is simple and a bit brutish, no limit on the syllables as well as not having the last syllable and and I created basing on getting my inspiration from a poker win streak I've had playing with my friends. I leave the pondering and hopfully ( appreciation ) of my work.


Disclaimer
I own no rights to the picture and have stated my sources. I do however, own all rights to the poem.


Curation
As you are already noticing people who vote my works earn good curation rewards, somewhere between 85-110% of the vote in STEEM rewards. Have a look and experience an article worthy of your upvote with a sure return of your investment. Do consider auto-upvoting my future works and see for your self

Please support the arts, especially poetry as I fear it may be a dying breed in our culture.
-Sir. Poemsalot

Sort:  

Very Beautiful💜😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64