A Great 50p Find at the Carboot This Weekend.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #carbooting5 years ago

Sometimes in life you get lemons, and its what you do with them that makes a difference, this time I decided to make lemonade.

I have had a rough few days, nothing had seemed to go my way and like most Sundays we took a trip to a carboot to see what bargains we could find.

There was a little family who had set up their carboot in the corner of the field and they seemed to have the least amount of buyers because of where they were.

We took a walk towards them and looked at their stall and they had a few things that took my interest. one of them been a scalextric boxed.

I remember been a kid and my dad bringing me home a scalextric set and I was so happy seeing the cars zooming past me and sometimes jumping over the rails and on to the floor it was great fun.

I reached down and started to look at the set when the little girl said to me, "it's never been opened, it was an unwanted gift".

I could see that the box was a little battered but other than that it still had the same security seal on it as they do when in the shops.

"how much for it" I asked, and the little girl went and got her mum. her mum came to me and said that they were there to sell everything and didn't want to take home with them.

"you can have it for 50p" "what?????????"

I bought a scalextric for 50p

I decided today to put it up for the kids to play with and we had hours of fun with it, my two year old laughed so hard when the cars went off the track just like I did when I was a young lad.

69410459_388612068504216_7912014961134534656_n.jpg

69258710_653483825129337_1564566894130757632_n.jpg

69582336_432547674048637_4881548936872984576_n.jpg

69978086_482211952328489_4666709514471342080_n.jpg

Inside the box was just like the girl had said, everything was still in their bags, the instructions where there, it was a brand new scalextric set.

I didn't realise how much fun we could all have from something that only cost us 50p. I am so happy with it and my kids didn't want to go to bed tonight as they wanted to continue playing with it.

It was well worth the money that we spent on it, and I am now on the look out for some more cars to go on the track.

Sort:  

Dude that’s insane. You can’t get owt for 50p these days!
I would love to see a video if it in action.
Also what @pennsif said - is the make/model on eBay?

Posted using Partiko iOS

In used condition on eBay it is at an average of £30 which to me makes this a right find.

We bought some other stuff from the stall as well, we got a foot massager, this has been donated to a school for autistic kids.
We were asked if we had one and when I saw it I decided to by it for them as theirs had broken.

That sounds like one mega bargain.

Have you taken a peek on ebay to see what it is worth?

In used condition on eBay it sells for around £30 which is a steal at 50p :D

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.604 which ranks you at #6176 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

We curated this post of yours in our last Algorithmic Curation Round, which included the curation of in total 115 contributions. Unfortunately, your post ranked last, at #115.

Evaluation of your UA score:

:* You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.

  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been selected for today's Best of British - five posts of the day from UK Steemians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68