1928 Original Studebaker: Barn find, Full Story

in #car7 years ago

1928 Original Studebaker: Barn find, Full Story

IMG_0687.jpg
I recently posted a short video of this car's engine running on DTube. A short video however do not do justice to this amazing car. This car was found in a barn in this un-restored original condition. The owner drove it to the show, and according to him the car still drives very well. Most of the parts on this car is still the original parts with which it came out of the factory. The current owner told me that he is not going to restore the car, he is going to leave it as it is. Below is a view of the front inside of the car, note the nice wooden steering wheel, and the tear in the seat's upholstery.
IMG_0682.jpg
Below is a photo of the wheel, the spokes are still made of wood, no light weight aluminium wheels here. Note the outer rim that fits over the inner rim, which is held in place by the little square steel pieces - you will see how this works later when we get to the spare wheel!!
IMG_0681.jpg
Below is a view of the rear inside of the car, no shortage of legroom here!!
IMG_0684.jpg
The bonnet folds up from both sides towards the center of the car.
IMG_0689.jpg
Below you can see the large headlights and the curvy mudguards.
IMG_0693.jpg
Look at the simplistic engine, it is an inline six cylinder, note how the spark-plug wires are fitted to the spark-plugs.
IMG_0697.jpg
Below is a photo of the badge sitting on the radiator of the car. The badge still looks reasonable after all these years.
IMG_0699.jpg
Below is a side view of the car, note the lack of side windows.
IMG_0706.jpg
Below is the dashboard with the instruments.
IMG_0709.jpg
The suspension can be seen below, leaf springs, to handle the rough roads of the time.
IMG_0712.jpg
Below is the spare wheel. Now you can see how this will fit over the inner rim, by loosening those small square pieces of steel.
IMG_0714.jpg
The petrol tank is at at the back of the car, as can be seen below.
IMG_0720.jpg
The photo below shows the radiator cap on top of the radiator.
IMG_0723.jpg
Below is a short description of this amazing car.
IMG_0694.jpg
The video below is the YouTube version of the DTube video that I posted earlier this week. I need help as I don't know how to upload a DTube video into a post like this, any advice will be welcomed.

I would love to hear your view on this Studebaker, do you think it should be restored, or are you concurring with the owner to keep it as is.

All photos were taken by me with my iPhone.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed the post.

Sort:  

Nice classical car collection my dear friend @rynow.. upvoted for you.. 😊👌👍

Thank you very much

@rynow,
It's shame that he won't build this car. (It seems dirty and ruined :/ ) So, did you ask the owner "Is he willing to sell this car?" If yes e can do some kind of STEEMIT campaign and you can buy it and build it like STEEMS do! I am just saying... we know the power of STEEM nah!
Anyway that's a nice photography and nice article as well! Thank you very much for sharing with us!

(Thank you very much for giving me a chance to regenerate my upvote power! Now you can enjoy 100% again! I know it's not much, but this is what I have! Thanks~)

Cheers~

The owner does not want to sell it. Some people however prefer it to be original and to not restore it. This car is however still licencesed to drive on the road, and the owner say it still drives very well. You can hear the engine still sounds great.

@rynow,
Yeah that's why I think this is a waste :/ Personally I hate that owner! :D

Thank you for sharing, bro.
In Venezuela does not exist these cars :)

There are very few of them around here by us too.

That looks very OLD but Very cool too

1928 Is 89 years old that is old!!

The Built just looks amazing

It was really amazing.

Wow...Really post and classic cars and nice photography.
video is good. upvote and resteem

Thank you very much.

WOW nice video
thank you for sharing
upvote

You are welcome

Wow...nice post superb classic cars from @rynow
Wel done my dear friend...
I really like classic vehicles..
Cheers!..

Yes, I love them too.

Not much of a car enthusiast but this made me say: Old is gold baby! Very nice!

This one definitely is gold.

Great set of photos to tell the story of a great car find. I would not restore it myself. If it's safe to run then it is more interesting like it is. I see a few cars like this but not many that old. Wooden wheels would worry me at that age I think.

The owner said that it drives well and the car is on the road, although it has a special permit. The wheels however looks surprisingly good. This car attracted a lot of attention at the show.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75