You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Kept Thinking of a Clever Title, but All I Came Up with Was This - a Few Thoughts on "Short-termism"

in #capitalism8 years ago

Beautifully put @schattenjaeger, I love the fact that you saw the connection between the "hoarding money" syndrome and short-termism.

In a way, I don't think we do disagree, because my point was; that the current obsession with short-termism, is kind of a case of life imitating, art, imitating life and so on.

Yes people are the key component of any human mechanism; and I like you am a pro-capitalist; and I also like you see crypto as long-termism. I just feel that fractional reserved currencies; along with a whole host of counterproductive financial mechanism are driving short-termism to the point whereby its being mistaken for actual, pure capitalism.

Take the ability to short a company; think about it, that is complete madness, being able to bet on the failure of a business. Apart from opening the door to corruption; it is completely and utterly a short-term mechanism.

Nobody shorts a company for it to eventually lose, they do it because they feel it will drop, at least in the short term, and they can make money. This is a mechanism of government, however shorting would have arisen at the behest of the financial community.

Finally, I'm submitting this to the Curie project to be upvoted, because it definitely deserves more than 5 votes; really nicely put together and I'm looking forward to your answer, and future debates! :-)

Cg

Sort:  

Thank you for this. :) I'm glad you found my work intriguing, I'm personally super bad at judging whether something I write is good or not. I also have a slight issue with the language being English, which isn't my native language. I'm good at English, but sometimes I would be able to phrase certain thoughts better in Finnish.

But I do agree with you on the concept of short-termism - and the funny thing is that around January or so, I was taking care of my mom's dogs and watched TV - I don't have a TV, myself - and Shark Tank (or Dragon's Den?) was on, and I had some similar thoughts about the show. Entertaining show, and I'm all for investors making money, but.. something about it didn't always click with me. No, it wasn't, like, jealousy or anything like that, it's just that it was a bit disheartening, to a point, to see these useful inventions and business models reduced to pure "How can this make me the most amount of money in the shortest time possible?" Eventhough I GET it, it can still bother me, to a degree. But only to a degree, since, like I said, I'm all for people making money, absolutely.

But I do like people who are pro-capitalist to be able to see some flaws in how it works as of now, instead of just being mindless drones repeating the same popular punchlines and buzzwords that we've all heard a million times. It's not productive, and I personally get very bored with it quite easily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88