An Interview with Clark French, Founder of the United Patients Alliance, UK Medical Cannabis Patients Activist Organization

in #cannabis7 years ago

High Steemit, thanks for joining me for another cannabis-themed interview. This week I'm sitting down with Clark French, Founder & Director of the United Patients Alliance.

The UPA were formed back in 2014 and help patients, caregivers and compassionate people learn more about the benefits of cannabis, while putting on events across the country and generally encouraging cannabis activism in a number of ways.

Recently, as part of our ongoing interview series, I spoke with Clark about cannabis, activism and lots more in a 30-minute-chat while we also enjoyed a couple of different strains of cannabis.

I hope you enjoy this episode! You can read a full transcript of this interview here: https://www.ismokemag.co.uk/clark-french-interview

Keep toking,

Tyler Green

Sort:  

Watched about six minutes, and then skimmed through the transcript for anything interesting.

One thing I'd like to add is when Clark talks about being kicked out for the smell of weed in his old place, I have to say I have mixed feelings on that. n one hand I understand he needs to medicate, and when you severe pain you really overlook the possibility of smell, but this an issue with Cannabis Consumers, and they often (in my personal opinion) could do better with concealing the smell, it's easy to think you are being stealthy, but the best ways involve high quality charcoal filters, fans, vaporizers, and common sense - anything with smoke will be smelled.

I totally understand the situation, but I'd just like to offer that respectful counter punch, and I knew his/your situation wasn't malicious against anyone involved.


Also I agree consumer sounds way better then user. I would only say you are a user if you have a clear problem with (or any) drug. So people can use or consume alcohol, and the same with cannabis. User just sounds likes a underhand insult most times.


It's interesting seeing Cannabis Activism on an international level, thanks for sharing this mate.

Thanks for watching and for the comment @archie.xyz
Good to know people are watching internationally!
Interestingly, I've always been more smell conscious than I believe to be necessary, even investing in special products like the neutralizer to cancel out the cannabis scent. But actually cutting out tobacco was what stopped the smell lingering and hanging about- I can smoke a bong in my living room and it'll be completely clear in about 10 mins with the window open as opposed to hours of smoke-smell from a spliff including tobacco!
User vs consumer is a good topic of discussion too, -user allows people to look down on people whereas consumer feels more like a genuine term.
Cheers again

I never though of that - that's a good point - tobacco reeks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64