New to Growing? Plain and Simple Photo of both Male and Female Cannabis Flowers (So you don't have to ask. lol)

in #cannabis6 years ago

I've Noticed MANY People Asking if Their Plants are Male or Female

Here is a photo I put together which shows the difference between the two quite easily.

Male-Female-Photo.png

Females Have White Pistils (Hairs)

Males Have Balls With Pollen Inside

Hope this helps :D

Go BE Awesome!!

Sort:  

Ah ha nice :)) Yes.. that ol' "male/female" search lol. In my experience, it's usual pretty apparent which is which.. with the white pistils hairs being the most defining characteristic, in my opinion.

Another kind of neat little "trick" that is sometimes used, and has been my experience, is the females' calyxs' I think they're called--the little green wisps that grow at the juncture of the main trunk and the branches, but the females tend to be crossed, which is kinda funny... It "crosses its legs" like a "lady" haah

Anyway, I must be super lucky because my last grow which was all seeds I happened to have found in bud from an actual rec dispensary (so I knew what strain they are, but not if their sex) all turned out to be females!!

It would probably be helpful, too, to do a pic showing herms bc, unfortunately, that is another situation growers may encounter, and source of usual confusion, for obvious reasons. Especially to an "uninitiated" grower, who might not know what to look for. The cannabis plant is quite an interesting "beast" haha.

Watch for Hermaphrodites!

Seeds showing up from dispensary cannabis is usually from hermaphrodite strains. No telling which strain in the room hermed and pollinated your cannabis, perhaps even several strains. You'll be looking at a genetic mix, at best.

The most common stressors which reveal hermaphrodite genetics are:

  • Root Bound (too large of a plant in too small of a pot)
  • Low pH in the root zone
  • High Heat
  • Light Spectrum/Schedule Changes

And for the full on hermaphrodite plants? You don't need to stress them, they'll show both sexes anyway. So watch your plants for signs of balls forming. Check them every day! You'll thank yourself. :D

Yeah.. After having "done the math," I figured: If I found seeds in buds that were (supposedly) "female," i.e., from a dispensary, then they must have hermed! That being said, I guess the "rumour" is true: All seeds from a hermed female will be female! Which has proven to be the case with these four so far.. I'm getting pretty close to harvesting and I haven't seen anything out of th eordinary yet, so, I may be in the clear.. but we'll see! If anything, I hope to try and take the strongest plants from what I have now and cloning it to perhaps try and bringout the best traits.. we'll see!

Thanks for the tips :)

Awesome to Hear!

One of the easiest ways to herm plants is with a light leak. When light leaks are the only stressors for that strain, you can run those types of hermies in flowering areas with complete dark at lights out.

Glad to hear they were stable. Rock on! :D

WAHHHH :(((( lol. fuuuuck. "Speak of the devil," eh? So I go check out the girls this morning--what do I see not a few seconds into peeking through one of my DJ SHort Blueberry's buds?? What appears to be A TINY YELLOW PROTUBERANCE!!!!!

This sucks. Like I said, I'm into my seventh week of flowering (8/31 makes 8 weeks flower), and I have scoured the otehr plants for anything out of the ordinary, and they all look good. I tore of the offending bud, wrapped it in plastic and threw it in the outside garbage. I was very careful to not "contaminate" anything--I tried. of course, who knows what kind of harm may already have been caused...

I could just cross my fingers and hope it was just this one off ocurrance and no more appear; or if they do, remove them. OR, just cut the whole plant down and chuck it; OR save it... Idk.. other than that one little nanner, the rest of the crop/ buds look fantastic and frosty as hell!!

It's also interesting that the most common strain that keeps popping up as hermie-ing for other growers is also blueberry variaties... Have you noticed this by chance? The buds on that one also literally have deep purple colored--almost a weird deep fuscia-rose type color inside it and on the leaves, too. The gals have suffered some kind of wonky environmental stressors recently, too, which I'm sure hasn't helped...

Anyway, what in this situation, @thecleangame, might you do??? :)

sorry, have had bronchitis the last week.

You won't be able to see the nanners before they spit pollen, so if you can get rid of it now, you'll likely have many fewer seeds at harvest. Spray the plants down with plain water, and let it dry. Spray the walls, floor and ceiling of your flower room as well, to get rid of most of the stray pollen.

Hope it works out ok! :D

Sorry you haven't been feeling well :( . thank you for your reply. And I'm not sure what is meant exact;y by "you won't be able to see the nanners before they spit pollen"--you mean, that if I've seen a nanner, it has necessarily already spit pollen? That's too bad... I hoped I'd caught it in time... Are you positive of this? I thought the nanners break open and spill the pollen.. Although, I'd imagine it would be next to impossible to prevent any and all specks of the stuff to stay put lol. So I won't be surprised if I find a couple seeds (which honestly i'd be fine with. These plants have for the most part been great; if it wasn't for me screwing up the temps/ lights that one day I don't think I'd have seen any nannas!) . Honestly, it's kinda messing w me bc I'm not even sure it was a nanner--is it possible that just one tiny one could appear and that's it--no more??

It was the strangest thing: Just the one teeny tiny nanner in the middle of one bud. I have searched and searched over the past two days since removing the one nanner and have not seen not one more. The buds look fantastic, actually... I will post pics soon.

Although I will say, some of the smaller "flowers/ budsites" lower down on the plant have formed what kind of look like where seeds had formed on my last grow: just a few random spots, and mostly at the bottom of the plant (which makes sense due to gravity where the pistils are a bit longer and spikier.

But thanks for the tip on wetting everything. I will do my best :). Plus, after reading up some more on the situation, seeing as seeds can take a few weeks to properly form, and I am so close to harvest, I think it'll be okay... I have high hopes :).

Yes, seeing the nanner usually means there are other male flowers in there. Not all of them will grow large enough to poke out and be seen, they will still open and drop pollen.

Look for darkened pistils. The white pistils turn brown when they're touched by pollen and begin creating a seed.

I prefer fully developed seeds, as they're easier to remove than the tiny immature ones. Here's hoping you're just fine. :) If not, it'll only be a bit harsher, nothing terribly health destroying. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79