New Seedling Chamber for First all Organic Grow

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7703.PNG

I never realized just how much time it takes to grow from seed to harvest. Most online articles will say stuff like they're on week 2 veg but the point of measurement often differs, some growers start their count from the minute it sprouts, others don't count until the first transplant so the actual time frame of a grow is up in smoke until you start experimenting yourself.

Once I realized a start to finish grow can take up to 5-6 months not including drying and curing I knew I had to set up a second smaller grow so I could harvest once every couple months . To speed up my next grow I purchased a wide spectrum Led light by Maxisun so I could start some seedlings while I wait for my blue dream to fully mature. Now I had the light but I needed a place to contain them so I converted a 2'x2' square metal box into a growing chamber.

Led grow light .JPG

In order to make the space work I had to make a frame out of some scrap metal found in order to hold the light because the box is only 2 feet tall and the light needed to be at least 12 inches away from the plants. it all was looking good but now I had an open top and no way to close it so I built the ledge you can see in the first pic and created an air tight box out of iso board to rest on it, I still need to perfect the bottom seal.

seedling chamber .JPG

During this time I had already put a few seed in a paper towel and as they cracked open I planted them into solo cups. the first one to sprout was a lucky Purple Trainwreck seed I got from some dank product, it was the only one found in a pound and it breached the soil within a day or two

IMG_7613.jpg

Along with the Purple TrainWreck seed I had some Northern lights seeds given to me by a friend who ordered a surplus online and 2 of 3 those followed soon after the trainwreck sprout, one didn't make it out of the dirt so I removed it and added a couple more random seeds I had germinated just in case the others didn't sprout. I carefully placed plastic bpa free sandwich baggies over the top of the cup to act as personal humidomes until the seedlings breached soil, removing them for a couple hours everyday to allow the soil and plant to breathe for a bit.

IMG_4995.JPG

a week or two in and they've all breached soil.

Early sprouts trainwreck northern lights .jpg

At this point I'm about 3 weeks from when I first put seeds into the dirt and getting pots ready for transplant as I see some roots poking through the holes at the bottom of some of the cups, id say I still have at least another week before I have to worry about them becoming root bound though, so I will transplant when they get a little stronger. I believe I overwatered the purple trainwreck bit which stunted its growth a little and allowed the other plants to catchup, I did not do this on purpose but now that they're evened out I think it will work out fine.

northern lights train wreck first grow .JPG
I believe people need to stop relying strictly on time frames and read their plants more, which I am still figuring out how to do properly but I believe that is the only true way to know as time frames can vary greatly.

Thanks for looking! Please Upvote, share, or Resteem this if you want to see more as these plants grow along!

My links:
[Steemit] (https://steemit.com/@stupidamerican)
[Instagram] (http://www.instagram.com/thestupidamerican)
[Twitter] (http://www.twitter.com/stupidamericano)

Sort:  

You sir, need a motherplant. It's so much more eazy and cheeper also. Until that, grow little girls, grow :)

ps: randoms are funny, you rly dont know what you get, sometimes you can find rly amazing strains.

yess I would like to do that to speed up the process, eventually I will continue to upgrade my grow rooms and will utilize more techniques like that as I go, I think I will will try some clones off of these before I switch to flowering

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39