You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lets Talk A Little Bit More About Cannabis Edibles

in #cannabis6 years ago

Thanks for your great comment @thecleangame!

For me, it all has to do with the mix of bacteria strains that are calling my gut their home.
I've moved to "low lectin" eating as a result. It starves off candida and noxious fungus which cannot process the oligosaccharides (derived from vegetables and fruit) and flour made from green bananas is a resistant starch which feed the beneficial bacteria strains that we all need to keep our gut microbiomes flourishing and in good working order.
Anything made from brown rice has a high lectin load and generally does the opposite along with damaging the mucosal lining of the gut wall, (which in folks who are sensitive to lectins) will cause "leaky gut" and drive inflammation through the roof.

Sort:  

We choose our lectins by blood type, since each blood type (and parental influence) has an effect on how well you digest a lectin. Lectins aren't 'bad' when they're easily digestible. :)

Interesting that none of my family (3 blood types) have had any issues with brown rice flour or brown rice. Going on 8 years now? Fantastic stuff, especially with pancakes. Your comment is the first I've heard of any warnings about it.

So, rubbing the brown off makes rice ok, eh? The science I've been following says it's healthier with the brown coat on, but then it's info from years ago. It's certainly tastier than white rice. lol:)

Anything that still has the bran attached is exceptionally high in lectins, so yes, brown rice has a higher lectin load than plan old white rice does. 12 grain, whole wheat bread has a higher lectin load than heavily refined white flour does (as another example).
I'm wouldn't eat refined white flour either, but it does have a lower lectin score than whole grain does.

Hrmm, well I'm barely able to handle wheat flour. Though I'm the only blood type the lectins are 'neutral' for, I have pathogens from parents which lean it toward avoid for me. Only tolerable in small amounts before sleepiness and other issues creep in.

BRF? I can eat massive amounts, along with lots and lots of brown rice without any noticeable side effects. Crazy, eh? Anyway, cool information. Thanks!

Yeah. It's crazy alright. I've completely overhauled my eating lifestyle in an attempt to drop inflammation levels in my own body. Been Paleo for 7 years, dancing around ketogenics all that time. I'm A- (no big surprise there) and do better when I drop most animal protein as per my blood type. I wasn't paying any attention to lectin load and now I am. Eating animal protein once a week, mostly green leaf and cruciferous veg while avoiding high lectin vegetables and have cut fruit way back too. I've also started supplementing with various mushroom supplements. We shall see what happens...my life is one big experiment at this point. LOL!

Most, I like that. :) A is the closest to being a 'vegetarian' but we still need some animal proteins in there. lol Glad to see you're approaching it intelligently.

Keep Being Awesome! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44