Sort:  

Yeah, such prices are rediculous, thats why they try to make it look like rocket science to grow hemp. In fact it has been grown in huge amounts for millenia, to make ropes and lots of other things.
But even with the method applied in Canada (I saw it on TV), at a price of 12,000$ they make 11,500$ profit. Thats why its grown in a place like Canada at all - nobody is growing bananas or coffee in Canada, because its not cost effective.

It will be an interesting "costing" exercise for me. I know what I was currently spending through the LP system to buy plant material and of course, I'm keeping track of what I am spending to get my grow set-up complete, so once I get a few growing cycles under my belt, I'll know how much I am actually saving. The next big thing for me is to track down seed/genetics. The government is trying to force genetic buying through their LP system and they are charging $750 for 5 clones! Ridiculous is an understatement.

Well, the climate in Canada is not exactly optimal for hemp. It likes warm weather and long sun hours. A cold winter does not really matter, since the plant is one yearly.
I don't know what regulations you have in Canada, regarding import of seeds ect.
Since it was made illegal almost everywhere it may be difficult to find a source for seeds. The Netherlands might be a possibility, they are quiete relaxed about hemp as well. In the middle east you can propably buy a whole sack of seeds for a few dollars - but not via mail order, of course.
The breeding of mutated hemp is nonsense in my opinion. The normal stuff is strong enough as it is. Who knows what other effects the modifications cause, apart of more THC content. Not a good idea, I think.

We really need a Steemit cannabis seed swap or bank. Not sure how that would work exactly, but it would be a good way to preserve genetics and protect strain efficiencies. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43