He Had The Best Nose In The Cannabis World...In My Humble Opinion.

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

I'm just getting ready to attend a big cannabis convention this weekend in Toronto, Ontario Canada.

It's called the Lift Cannabis Expo and this will be my second year attending.

This weekend there will be over 200 Exhibitors and Guest Speakers from around the globe.

It's a 2 day event starting on May 27 and concludes at 6pm on May 28th at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

More information on the event and how you can buy tickets can be found from Lift's website: www.liftexpo.ca

Last year I was fortunate enough to meet Franco Loja and have my picture taken with this great Cannabis Icon.

Franco Loja is most well-known for his work as a Strain Hunter on Vice/HBO's Strain Hunters tv show. That, and the fact that he and his business partner and co-host, Arjan Roskam owned Green House Coffeehouse and Seed Company in Amsterdam.

Franco loved discovering land-race cannabis strains growing in their natural environments and as a result of his expertise, he ended up being in the Democratic Republic of Congo in January 2017.

As the story goes (and I have heard 2 different versions of it now) he was looking for a particular strain that he and Arjan had previously discovered. They'd brought it back to their lab to test the terpene profile of it and realized that it had a very high content of a particular cannabinoid.

(As I understand it from Franco, land-race strains are exceptionally valuable due to the process of botanical evolution. For a cannabis plant to survive in nature, subjected to the earth's rugged conditions and weather patterns, it has to have exceptionally strong genetics.)

No breeder's skills can touch the power of Mother Nature's own evolutionary process, a strategy based on "survival of the fittest".

So, it seems that Franco found himself back in the Congo searching for THE strain. I have heard that the strain was high in THCV (which is a well-known appetite suppressant) and the other story that I have heard suggests that they had found a strain that was efficient in treating malaria.

At any rate, Franco got bit by a mosquito in the Congo that was carrying malaria and he ended up contracting a form that attacks the brain. People who live there have some immunity to it, but sadly Franco did not.

He literally was posting on Facebook and 2 days later he was gone.

A beautiful person, whose smile could light up a room.

Franco Loja, you are greatly missed.

Bluntly speaking, there will be one big blaze for you tomorrow.

Franco Loja 1974-2017

Love to all.

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

Congratulations @rebeccaryan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thank you for this recognition.

Oh man, that's so sad about Franco... Gone too soon, I bet. On the bright side, it looks like he has already left a lasting legacy, and I'm happy that people will remember him even years after he has passed.

Yes. We just have to do our best to make sure that there are others who are looking for and categorizing these land-race strains. The benefit is, in finding the different plant medicines that we didn't know even existing for treating diseases. That's why people are taking these risks to get into the far reaches of the earth.

Such a noble effort. I really wish that technological advances would help in that so that there wouldn't need to people who would sacrifice for it.

Yes, hopefully we will see these advancements happen with our life-time.

With the leaps and bounds we're seeing, I'm confident we will :)

I hope you will post about your trip to the convention. RIP Franco~

I've got a post formulating in my brain as I type to you @magick323. We ended up going to the conference on Sunday and had about 4 hours of driving to and from in heavy traffic...so I'm recovering and organizing photos and stories today. Great to chat with you, my friend. I am happy that you haven't given up on Steemit. ;)

I have been writing like a maniac. Looking forward to your post!

I turned 21 in March and I have yet to have my first encounter with cannibus. It will happen soon.

STEEM ON!!

Happy belated birthday @gringalicious! Well, I can tell you that this herb is going to add a whole other dimension to your cooking :)
It could be a whole new culinary genre for you.

What a fantastic idea. I am really close to Washington state, maybe I can pick some up.

Just be exceptionally careful if you try anyone's pre-made edibles. They are 10 times stronger than vapouring cannabis....tiny tiny piece your first time and plan on trying it, when you don't have to leave the house. Ask for a very gentle indica strain that doesn't produce anxiety or paranoia and don't mix it with alcohol.

wow, what an amazing guy. Trekking around the world and in the Congo in search of the perfect strain is truly a remarkable thing to do. No matter what he was looking for that's courage and strength right there.

I didn't know who he was until now but I am already missing him.

You should try to find one of their past Strain Hunter tv shows on Vice/HBO. They really got into some remote locations in their search to find strains of the cannabis plant growing in its natural environment without huge human interference. Franco was 3 years younger than me and it really hits home that we all must seize everyday like it's our last because all it can take is a mosquito bite. Thanks for commenting @solarguy. ;)

@rebeccaryan - What a treat to meet Franco! I am still bummed out he is gone. Thank you for sharing! RIP Franco Loja

Oh, me too! It's heart-breaking. He was a genuinely nice person.

ENJOY! Take a puff for me, and have fun!

Thanks @ryanrizz! Will do. I hope to get some cool photos. Last year the vape lounge was pretty crazy.

What an awesome experience! Please do take photos.

Gosh that is rather sad, yes what might seem a good idea may not be.

That's the thing...these land-race strains are often found in the most remote areas of the planet. They are hard to get too and once there, physically...you're away from most civilization and help.

Yes I agree.

Franco Loja is a great .

I could agree more. He was a great human being and now even more of a cannabis legend.

So very sad about Franco. The smallest things in life...
Enjoy the trip, and let us know how it goes. in all forms. I'm sure you will have a very fascinating post(s) about it. Thanks for sharing.

I'll do my best @ddschteinn! I have a feeling this year is going to be quite "corporate".

Good luck, and have fun. BTW...Did you ever get a credential made, to help with reporting credibility? I know you and my pass-creator, @ocrdu had a discussion about it. Wondered if that post/comment you discussed ever got anything going to help you. He does great work, and it of course can be much more serious than my corner of the world requires ( :

Well, I never heard anything from Steemit inc. or any whales...so I followed @ocrdu's lead and we (my husband) made a pass for me and we lamented it. I carry it everywhere I go now. So far, I haven't had an occasion to flash it...but it's at the ready. :)

How exciting.

I really appreciate both you and @ocrdu telling me that you both had one. I thought it would be really useful, so now I have one too!
It feels like I now have some level of credibility and I figured that after writing about 200+ articles on Steemit, that ought to be worth a press pass. LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15