Diversity And A Compact Drying Rack For Flowers And Herbs

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

As I move into larger cannabis crop production it has been tricky not to run out of space.

So far, I have reconfigured my growing space 3 times.

Basically each time I ‘ve planted a new crop, I’ve had to make more changes.

This is not a bad thing. I see it as a challenge and as an opportunity to do better.

E7E741CE-0327-48F2-8D1D-6EA34B82051C.jpeg

Part of this is because my skills as a new grower are strengthening with the tasks that are repetitive from one garden to the next. I am also continuing to learn through trial and error, as I just simply try new techniques to learn what will happen.

I think that all basic growing skills can be taught but, just like a fingerprint, we (as gardeners) are all just a little bit different and this makes each grower unique.

As a direct result, if the same strain is grown by several different growers, the end product can be completely different and most of the time it is.

This is part of the reason why it is wise to try different strains...all the time. That way, you’ve always got 1/2 a dozen strains (or so) that you know will work with your body’s chemistry and you’ve got a plan B and a plan C.

Too many times I have fielded panic calls from other medical patients whose license producer (or grower) doesn’t have “their” strain ready for sale. This means that the grower either hasn’t got that particular strain growing at all or, the crop is still in the process of reaching maturation and is weeks away from being dried and cured.

This can be a huge problem if the person doesn’t have back-up strains that they know will work for them and their particular set of aliments.

When you grow for yourself you control your own production, what strains you grow, what lights you use, what nutrients you feed and how you utilize your available space.

I am always looking for ways to improve the quality of my crops...just like any farmer or gardener strives to do.

This is why I was really excited to find this compact drying rack because it’s going to let me dry my buds vertically in a much smaller footprint.

7D687CDF-40CF-422D-BA90-BB68D3D19677.jpeg

It has 8 tiers, each being 2 feet or 60 cm in diameter and it’s 140 cm tall or almost 5 feet.
(This is a little smaller than ones that I have previously looked at in gardening supply stores.)

When it’s not being used, it simply collapses for easy storage.

0C401344-DA51-446E-B470-EF7AB63B08CE.jpeg

Before I purchased this layered rack, I was drying my flowers by hanging them horizontally in a simply line, from their cut stocks.

85462D99-85D7-44C7-8929-C055E372D9EE.jpeg

When I harvest my current grow, I think that I am going to cut the buds from their stocks entirely and just dry the flowers. I ‘m going to try this in an effort not to pull chlorophyll from the stems. I am interested in learning if this will have any influence on the taste of the buds once they are cured.

More information about this drying rack can be found at:
https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B075JF9R6G/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It can be used to dry all kinds of different herbs and flowers but I think that it will work awesome for cannabis. I am also planning to run an oscillating fan directed onto it, to help keep the air moving around the rack.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...we will be happily gardening. ;)

83A11B82-5FA3-47E9-A3CA-EC56D8F8CA0F.jpeg

~ Rebecca
PS: Check out:
https://smoke.network
https://smoke.io

Sort:  

Bravo, nice crop ;)

It isn't many months since I read about your first crop. Time flies. But what really has grown is your confidence.

I hope that you will be at the top of the tender
Greetings and good luck

simply the the drying rack is very useful by its 8 layer/tiers, it helps you more easier to dry your flower and buds and more with the qualities, you are the best with cannabis, and now i can see it!

I hope you will succeed your mission.
your knowledge is very deep about cannabis, gardening, homesteading and plantmedicine.

I haven't grown that since high school but with huge risk back then!

I like your gardening skills and creativity.
I love gardening and like you said, we learn best from trying things and we want to have the best available nutrition and growing conditions for our plants and it takes time to see what is working and what is not and with every different plant the experience might be quite different.
I really enjoyed your post @rebeccaryan.
Thanks for sharing

you have a talent in cultivation, keep working so you can succeed, greetings from @fikar22

most useful rack................obviously you apply better for this...........then we can learn something good............

@rebeccaryan Hello honey, can I join on Smock.io? I also want to upload pics :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84