Decarb What? Managing Trichomes And Cannabinoids

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Decarb is an abbreviation of the word Decarboxylation.

When the words decarb or decarboxylation are used in reference to cannabis, it simply refers to a chemical reaction that can occur.

This reaction usually involves the addition of heat for a set period of time.

The transformation that is sought after is a conversion of the cannabinoids from their raw forms into their activated forms.

This becomes particularly important when you want to use the medicine contained on the cannabis flower buds and sugar leaves to make infused food.

B57CE85F-D2BC-411C-899E-F59D47705D54.jpeg

In the photo (above) you can see a cannabis flower (bud) that is just starting to mature and it’s working on growing its trichomes.

The trichomes are glands that have a structure very similar to that of a mushroom with a long tube-like stem. The trichomes produce and store the cananbinoid resin which can include any combination of the 111 known cannabinoids, terpenes and flavonoids. All 3 of which, work synergistically as compounds, that act (as medicine) inside the body once ingested. Their function is to balance the system internally and restore physiological function.

Currently THC and CBD are the main cannabinoids that larger cannabis producers are routinely analyzing their plant material for. Everyday, we continue to learn more about how this plant actually works.

This particular cannabis plant ( in the photo below) is still growing in my garden. In about 6 more weeks it will be ladened with cannabinoids (the medicinal compounds that cannabis produces.) Currently, you can see the beginning of this process happening. The plant is growing trichomes on its flower buds and on some of the leaves around the flowers. This makes them appear to look like they are coated in a white, very crystal-like sugar.

Under the grow lights, the trichomes sparkle like diamond dust.

77F168C2-4988-4E39-8B05-06B02D529E8D.jpeg

When the flowers reach their optimal maturity, the trichomes will be full of sticky cannabinoid resin.

5753AA91-AA0C-43E1-A346-F511B492FCDE.jpeg

In the photo (above) you can see what the trichomes look like when they are full of resin and the plant is ready to be harvested.

Once the plant has been harvested for its buds and sugar leaves and those components have been cured, this material can then be smoked, vaped or prepared into an infused food item.

When someone smokes cannabis, the cannabis is being decarboxylated as it’s being burnt. In the case of vaping, it’s the heating element of the vaporizer that’s decarbing the cannabis during a vape session.

Before you cook with cannabis you must decarb it without damaging the fragile resin filled gland heads on the trichomes. If you don’t take the time to decarb, you are wasting more than a third of the potential medicine (the buds and leaves) contain and your food items won’t be very powerful.

With the addition of certain temperatures of heat (in the decarboxylation process) a carboxyl group ( made of hydrogen, carbon and oxygen) get cleaved off a molecular chain of atoms and carbon dioxide is lost as a result.

Decarbing refers to the loss of carbon dioxide

Each cannabinoid decarbs at a set temperature for a certain amount of time.

THC decarbs at 240 degrees F and requires 45 minutes to effectively do so.

CBD decarbs at 295 degrees F and requires 75 minutes. Almost double the time and at a higher temperature when it’s compared to THC.

Now that you know that you must activate cannabis if you want to take advantage of more of it medicinal and you can stop wasting it.

I welcome your comments and and I invite you to follow on my journey... we will be decarbing pot on a regular basis. ;)

D5E89368-A70E-4BC8-A1DF-79569E8A8F89.jpeg

~ Rebecca
PS: Check out the Smoke Network.
https://smoke.network
https://smoke.io

Sort:  

Rebecca
That is a lot of work and information that you have given to us.
It will work wonders for those that have opportunity to utilize
all the steps that you have shown to us.
One day. That is my continual voice of words.
I know that I am right.
It is too important to not be for the people.
Thank you

Francis

Thank you very much @francisk!
If anything there is useful resource information forever protected on the blockchain.
The biggest challenges people will have with this plant are:

  • understanding where the medicine is generated and stored;
  • learning which strains positively interface with their body’s chemistry;
  • and choosing the best ingestion method for them.

Again, I have learned something new from reading your material. Maybe one day I can put all this to good use, if I can retain it all that is. At least I can always come back to it here on the blockchain for a refresher course if need be. Does different strains decarb at different temperatures?

Good question @bluelightbandit!
It's not the strains themselves that require the decarbing but the mix of cannabinoids that each of the strains contain. We currently have identified 111. Some share the same decarb temperatures and time and others require different temperatures and different times for closer precision...and you know how my mind works...I happen to really appreciate precision. For the love of anything good, do it right or don't bother getting out of bed. LOL!

I am gonna read everything you post, because when they do legalize cannabis in my state of North Carolina, I will put to use all I learn from you.

Hi @bigblueleadsled! Just know that I have some good friends in North Carolina and as soon as your damn state legalizes...even offers you medical...I'm bringing my show on the road and I'm going to come and teach in person. I'm certain we can pull a group of interested people together for some intensive training. :)
Do you know @bluelightbandit?

Yes, I do see his posts and I do follow @bluelightbandit.
If you come ,I will be there for sure.

I had a co-worker come to me today asking about CBD cause he has back pain and arthritis. I shared your page to him, now he is not on Steemit but after he read your posts, he will. I linked him your Afgan skunk post where you touched on the subject a little.

Excellent article. I didnt know CBD required higher temps and more time. Good to know. Love the flower pictures too by the way.

Thank you @olafurthor!

Yes, CBD requires a higher temperature and for a longer amount of time to decarb efficiently and effectively.

If dealing with a strain that has both THC and CBD in it, you must choose the cannabinoid that you really want to utilize that strain for...if it's the CBD crank up the heat and wait it out.

Same goes for selecting temperature settings on a vapourizer. Some have pre-set temperature buttons and some of the better quality ones allow you to really dial in the exact temperature that you want.

amazing flower 😍

It is an amazing flower @skreza!
I couldn't agree more.

❤❤❤

Yep should be common knowledge!

Agreed @coradino23! Sadly it is not.
Knowledge is power, so I see part of my job as being an educator. If I can work to remove the stigmas that cannabis has and normalize its uses, then I have done the plant and its valuable medicine, justice.

I have been decarbing at 240 degrees for 25 minutes. I will try 45 minutes.

Very good! With this extra time, you'll be able to extract approximately 52% of the available medicine out of your plant material when you make your infusions.
With that said, never throw the material away after you infuse and filtre the buds out of whatever the medium is that you originally infused because it will still contain about 48% activity. I bake this left over pulp right into food items. ;)

Mine goes to the compost pile. I think the chickens get a taste :)

Hahaha! Well, if your hens partake they will be happy, happy, happy. It’s a wonder they can even walk around. Lol!

Very informative learning!

I am happy that you think so @jerge!
I am trying to provide practical information that people can really use.

amazing... you are very knowledgeable.... this post is great and very informative... thank you for sharing with us your knowledge.... good luck...

Thank you very much @thusitha!
I am trying to provide sound information to teach others.

That's a great Photography 😎.I appreciate your cannabis gardening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59189.63
ETH 2650.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42