Cannabis Infused: Garden Fresh Pea Purée

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Yeah, what can I say? Eventually you just get tired of making and eating your standard, run of the mill, pot brownies and your gastronomic palate moves on.

11E1AFAB-EB8C-48D4-B739-FC2343A6F3C4.jpeg

I love fresh green peas straight out of the garden.

C3EA1685-F526-4D9D-AE4D-6847702448B4.jpeg

While we're on the topic of food items that I love, I also love cannabis, cannabis infused butter, garlic and 35% whipping cream.

EEDDC19A-59BE-4D42-89E7-78C9AEDD3A6C.jpeg

Thick, smoked bacon, fresh chives and plantain chips aren’t half bad either...

In my world, that’s all the fixings a person needs to take a basic recipe for mushy peas and lace it up right!

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart of sweet green peas (washed and shelled)
  • 1 tbsp of cannabis infused butter (melted)
  • 1/8 of a cup of heavy cream (35%)
  • 1/2 tsp of minced garlic
  • 12 plantain chips (crackers would work too)
  • 1 strip of bacon (cooked and drained dry, then cut in 12 small pieces)
  • freshly chopped chives
  • pink Himalayan salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.

Directions

914F327F-22AE-4A3F-B071-80C6DD1DCA84.jpeg

  • Melt the butter in a small bowl inside a pot of boiling water.

pro-tip:
If you melt the butter in a hot water bath before you mix it in with your peas, the finished purée will be more evenly medicated and you are less likely to have pockets of purée that are stronger than others.

  • Shell and wash the peas.

  • Boil or gently steam the peas for 5 minutes. (They should be tender and cooked all the way through but not falling apart.)

  • Drain the water from the peas.

  • Blend the peas in a high powered blender or food processor along with the melted butter, heavy cream and minced garlic.

  • Season with salt and pepper to taste.

EE1E7F7E-9BBC-48AA-B28C-95AE5AD2C3F1.jpeg

The purée should look smooth and thick, just like the photo (above).

To make the canapés:

  • Spread the purée, evenly on top of a plantain chip or thin cracker.

  • Position a small piece of bacon in the centre of the purée and garnish the top of the bacon piece with freshly chopped pieces of chive.

643ED155-1FAA-434B-A532-8A9DF2365031.jpeg

Enjoy!

These bite size morsels make a fantastic addition to a charcuterie board. You will have pea purée left over and I use it as a dressing for cold salads, as a sauce over meats or as a condiment for steamed vegetables.

It’s incredibly versatile.

CB22413B-707B-4C55-8602-AE3DCEDD8823.jpeg

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey....nothing beats fresh peas and cannabis, homegrown never tasted so good. ;)

6C12CE75-9CDE-4E8B-BC4E-89C14A778470.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

Awesome recipe!
Smaller edibles are great cause you can
experiment with different doses.

Exactly @liquid-mike! More manageable for people just starting out on the edible side or if it’s part of a completely medicated meal.

Yes except for the bacon.

Hi @medikatie!
I did eat a few without bacon and they were tasty. It made me think that you could use it as a dip for vegetables or chips...a variation of hummus.

Oh yum! I agree with @jonyoudyer....you are a chef by any definition. I have never grown enough peas to get any into the kitchen, as they all get unzipped and eaten in the garden. These look great!

Thanks so much for all your kind words @tamaralovelace!
I just love when you can go out into your backyard/land and pick your own food. I think it’s so rewarding. ;)

Wow Rebecca! I would love to see the people you consider pro, because in my eyes you are Top Chef!!!

Haha! Thanks for the vote of confidence @jonyoudyer!
You must check out the work of my good friend @progressivechef who is currently working towards a Michelan Star for his kitchen/restaurant in Mauritius. (He's floating on a small island in the Indian Ocean not far off the southeast coast of Africa.)
He has some land and as soon as his country legalizes, we can take a team, plant his plantation and teach him how to infuse. Got it all worked out. LMAO!
It'll be a good gig.

Looks terrific! Nice use of bacon and cannabis :)

Thanks @jeffjagoe! Bacon and cannabis makes me laugh...who am I kidding. It’s cannabis. Cannabis makes me laugh.

Yes and bacon makes me smile :)

well cannabis makes me smile too of course...

Warning to pot smokers. Don't give a urine sample to your doctor even if you live in a legal state. If you test positive for THC you will get a call from your provider saying you are in violation of your contract and that you will be denied your prescriptions. Also if they do not see prescribed medicine in your urine you will also be denied your meds and will be accused of being a drug dealer. It happened to me. It is entrapment and uninformed consent. Thought you should know. Great post. Happy Steeming!

Thanks for sharing this information @stephenthorburn.
There’s so many unjust things happening around cannabis these days. Just when I start to think that we’re making some progression, I hear/read something like this. I then think we haven’t made any progress at all. People are still being persecuted for using a herb.

Yes, It has me very upset, angry and can't get my prescriptions. I feel entrapped, betrayed and violated by my own doctor. My personal records are now tainted. And they think I am a drug dealer because I did not have enough of my prescription in my urine. I had no idea I was being drug tested. Heck, I was wearing a Weedmaps t-shirt and probably wreaked of pot when I went in to have blood drawn. Next thing I know they want me to pee in a cup. Next day I get a call from my provider telling me I am in violation of my healthcare contract. It has been about three weeks and I still test positive. Needless to say my primary care physician will no longer be my doctor. I am looking to change insurance provider as well.

I should see a lawyer. Then I thought to myself, do I really want to endure the expense and hassle of a lawsuit? I doubt I would prevail because I'm sure they have their butts covered for this crap. I don't want to open Pandora's box. I will try to see if I can pass and pee in a cup again and hope for the best. And then lay into my doctor and read her the riot act and tell her why she is fired.

The truth is, I don't think I will ever pass a urine test. My wife is fighting cancer and I am growing it in the house to make her medicine. The house wreaks of it and I am breathing and touching it all the time. If I can't pass I don't know what I will do.

If I (God forbid) have an injury are they going to deny me pain meds? I worry about it.

Feel free to use my meme. And have a great day.

I hope you don't mind me venting.

destimatize.jpg

Nice canape recipe! I too love peas fresh from the garden! I have to try this one!

Simple but effective recipe for mixing up with cannabis along with bacon, i think there is no difference in taste to leave good comments after check it.

Wow! Again, every time I see one of your posts I am blown away by how amazing your cooking with cannabis skills are! I love it, and it must be so much fun:) well it’s fun being creative with cooking, and even more so in this way:) keep up the inspirational and creative cooking 😀

I am now totally starving and would love to try some of these canapés, but I hope you enjoy them very much! 🌅

Awesome recipe!Simple but effective recipe for mixing up with cannabis along with bacon, i think there is no difference in taste to leave good comments after check it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80