Cannabis Can Only Be Purchased Legally In Canada Through a Licensed Producer and Shipped due to the Monopoly.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

In November I wrote about Canada's medical marijuana exemption laws that have been enforced since 1999.

If you missed that article, you can view it here:

https://steemit.com/marijuana/@rebeccaryan/i-hear-the-whistles-blowing-the-trainwreck-is-coming-as-it-rolls-round-the-track

Today, the Canadian medical marijuana laws and regulations are called the Access to Cannabis for Medical Purposes Regulations. These regulations state that all medical marijuana license holders in Canada can either buy their plant material directly from a Licensed producer or if they want to grow for themselves or designate a grower on their behalf, they can fill out an 18-page application, have it signed by two doctors and wait for Health Canada to give their approval. The application to grow stipulates that all genetic material, be it seeds or clones must be purchased from a Licensed Producer and can not come for alternate sources or those plants will be considered illegal.

Simply put, the rules and regulations surrounding the production and distribution of "legal cannabis in Canada" is a government sanctioned monopoly which supports and protects the corporate interests of big businesses, many of which boast traded stock on the Toronto Stock Exchange.

I've been a "legal medical marijuana license holder" in Canada since 2015. 

When I go to purchase legal cannabis, my documentation at the Licensed Producer that I chose and was assigned to, must be up to date.

Then, I can shop on-line through their secure website and purchase the plant material that I have selected. I must pay for it with a valid credit card and then, the company will ship it to me via the post office. If I have any questions about anything related to my purchase, I must phone in and wait until a customer service representative has the time to speak with me...just like what you'd expect when attempting to do business with any company over the internet.

I received an order last week, but didn't have a chance to open it until today and I thought it was worth sharing.

I ordered 5 grams of a strain called Alaska.

Alaska is a premium strain coming in at 22.69 % THC.

It is a Sativa dominant hybrid, being 70% Sativa.

I purchased it to use as a daytime strain and it was priced at $15 (Canadian dollars) per gram.

Here's what it looked like when I picked it up at the Post Office:

I thought it was a huge box for a 5 gram container and I wondered if I really needed to pay $10 for shipping on what should be a tiny container that doesn't weigh very much.

Once I opened the top of the box, this is what it looked like inside. There was something additional that I was not expecting.

It was a winter toque, logoed with their company crest and a Christmas card. I suppose they thought I'd be happy to advertise that I am one of their customers. I'm not being ungrateful but it will be a bloody cold day in HELL before I ever advertise that I am being screwed by them and the government of Canada at the same time.

Several month ago, this company offered a huge promotion to a segment of their customer base but they sent me the paperwork on it by accident.

They thought that due to my "higher than average gram per day prescription" that I was a military veteran, but I'm not.

When I questioned them, they apologized and said that the promotion was only available to their Veterans and that I, not being a Veteran, wasn't eligible. They apologized again and stated that they shouldn't have sent me the details about their promotion. (End of story, until now.)

All the Veterans had to do to take advantage of their promotion was to order 30 grams of a particular strain of plant material that this company was launching. The Canadian government currently pays for all the plant material that the Veterans order so exactly "0" dollars were coming out of the individual veterans' pockets, yet this company gave each of them a Magical Butter Machine for free.

These machines regularly retail for $230 Canadian each. I have been paying out of my own pocket for every single gram I order, plus shipping, plus taxes, I might add, and I'm not eligible.

I would have bought the 30 grams because the whole promotion was a great deal and the company's motivation was to keep their customers' loyalty.  

Odd how that works isn't it? I thought. Here they are trying to keep the loyalty of a group of their customers who have never paid for their own cannabis.

If anything, they should be rewarding the arm of the government who is paying for it and it certain leaves me speculating whether this company actually billed the government for the machines they gave away...allegedly for free, but only to certain customers.

(I'll let you decide what you think about this situation.)

Here's the Christmas card in which they wish me good health and hope that I'll stay warm by wearing their togue.

About all I can say is, "Yeah, I'll wear the togue, but just pull my nightie down when you're done."

This is the 5 gram container that I ordered. You can see that it is sealed in a plastic bag, the lid is shrink wrapped and it has a child-proof safety cap.

Here's a closer look at the packaging.

Here's what it looked like once I opened it.

Here's my bill and my plastic identification card which I am supposed to present if I get questioned by the police about having cannabis in my possession. You can see that I was charged shipping and taxes on my 5 gram purchase. 

Cannabis is currently the only prescribed medication, that I am aware of in Canada, that you are required to pay taxes on.

Let's just let that detail sink in for a minute shall we...

If you are prescribed Morphine, Oxycontin or Percocet, no tax is charged on these drugs.

It's another double standard and should be illegal for our government to do, in my humble opinion.

Not to disappoint, I thought I'd wrap up my personal quality control check by weighing the cannabis that I purchased. Please remember that I had to pay for this first and have it shipped to me without being able to see it or smell it.

I don't think that it's a great way to select plant medicine.

At least I didn't get shorted and the additional .22 grams that you are able to read on my scale's display is the weight of the buds on my scale.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan 

 



  

 

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Let us know whenever you wanna pull someone's hair?

Hahaha! @immarojas thanks for commenting.
Yes, receiving the hat was the last straw and all that this sarcastic girl could take. LMAO!

Definitely felt that i could cry ohmmm

I'm medicating now for the safety and comfort of everyone...I'll be alright. LoL

That won't be for long ;)

Wow! I thought Canada was easier than in the US. It seems a lot easier here in Oregon, for medical or recreational. I'm glad you have some access, though. I feel so bad for people in some of the US that are at risk when they need relief!

It's been like the Wild West. The small "Mom and Pop" dispensaries, which were the backbone of the Canadian Cannabis movement for the last 30 years, are being muscled out because they chose not to or couldn't afford to pay to become a Licensed Producer sanctioned by the government.
Canada currently has 34 Licensed Producer which have to supply the entire country. There is way more demand for the plant medicine than there is supply. The LPs are always running out. This basically forces medical marijuana license holders to get the plant material any way they can. We aren't talking about recreational use here, these people are ill and need the plant to treat autoimmune diseases like Cancer and mental illness like PTSD.
No-one can see the plant material or smell it. Being able to smell it would allow individuals to choose the correct strains for their bodies. I do a lot of research before I purchase. Most don't, and just take the recommendations that the customer service rep provides or they guess if the strain will be a good one based on the strain's name and a small on-line description.

I always think of Canada as being more open to things like that. But what you describe is a mess. How hard for the folks trying to find a strain that works for their issues. And poor 'Mom and Pop' operations -- they carried the risk for so long and now get shut out -- and even now they are carrying risk to help out the folks facing supply chain problems. I bet it will go that way in the US, too. It shows there is still a need for advocates to make MJ readily accessible.

We at HempSweet, located in Utah, USA are seeing the same approach building for all medicinal properties of cannabis....even the 100% legal hemp! We are in the fight of our life to at least save the 100+ other cannabinoids currently not scheduled under the federal controlled substance act (CSA).

As far as we can tell people can still order industrial hemp (same cannabis just without THC) from Canada as it is exempt from new regulations. @rebeccaryan we could love for you to learn about the unique organic refinement process we do for our Hemp derived CBD and if you love it as much as us then become one of our affiliates and share in our online sells.

We've had a lot of problems with CBD oil being stopped at the border and not being allowed to come into Canada from the USA. It's hit or miss. Some shipments processed some not. People that I know personally have been burned and lost hundreds of dollars. Paid for CBD hemp oil and it's been confiscated at the border. We need an end to prohibition on this herb, not just legalization, which will only serve to make corporations money and not get the plant medicine that is so desperately needed into the hands of the people.

We also sell pure 99.9% hemp CBD isolate powder. If you are concerned about getting it across the border just let us know when you make your purchase.

Start with the 1 gram size first to verify our shipping techniques. If they do seize it, then you have 100% authority to demand they deliver as it is not breaking any laws. Hell before we started growing our own hemp in the US, we got a large amount from Canada. HempSweet is happy to return the favor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97