Cannabis and Wine - A Match Made

in #cannabis7 years ago

First, I need to find a way to attend this symposium and write about it. Really. Suggestions for how to make it happen would be welcome!

wine-and-weed.jpeg

On to the good stuff. This August, in Santa Rosa, CA, there will be a Weed & Wine Symposium. Held by the Wine Industry Network, this will be a forum to discuss how the legalization of cannabis in California will affect the wine industry. They plan on examining the opportunities and threats this green new world brings with it.

Topics appear to include:

  • what is legal
  • new cannabis products
  • regulations
  • licensing
  • hospitality
  • growing
  • etc. etc. etc.

Of interest to me, as a hospitality marketing person, is how both sides see hospitality being affected. The website for the symposium (http://wine-weed.com/) seems to understand the similarities between the two recreational drugs (because yes, alcohol IS a drug). I love that they call out the rural and agricultural similarites, the terroir or place of origin designations, the similarity in the regulations both will be subject to. It's really quite refreshing.

The reason I mention how refreshing is because of the alarmist reaction from a great number of people in my niche of hospitality marketing - that being of adult beverage. Just recently, a well-respected colleague mentioned in a magazine that "alcohol volumes will be under pressure" and that "alcohol drinking in the 18- to 25-year-old demographic has declined for seven straight years." He attributes this to the increase in marijuana use and cites "multiple surveys" that suggest people who consume cannabis reduce the amount of alcohol they consume.

I'm not disputing that fact. It may be true and the surveys may be attributing this decline appropriately. However, if anyone has tried both cannabis and alcohol, they are vastly different. I enjoy both sensations of "being high," but not at the same time. And I choose which method and which high based on my mood. Just like I choose whether I want a beer, a glass of wine, or a cocktail based on my mood (or the food I'm eating.)

Speaking of enjoying both and eating... back to the symposium. As I mentioned, cool that they are not running around like Chicken Little. They are noting that the cannabis industry is modeling some of their programs after the wine industry.

Why yes, I would like to go on a tour of your cannabis fields and have a session in your smoking room. Please, sign me up!

But I'd also like to tour a vineyard and winery. And a brewery. And a distillery.

You see, it's all about the experience and people can't have too many experiences. Our FOMO demands them. We want to know. We want to see. We want to feel. We want to experience. The sooner the adult beverage gang gets on board and welcomes this new bedfellow, the better for everyone.

Because, though I may not be into mixing my highs at the moment, I would love to take part in a wine and weed pairing. Just for the experience.

What do you think? Would you be into a wine and weed tasting? Hit me up and let me know.
And I'm serious about that whole attending the symposium. Who do I need to talk to?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44