You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cannabis prices going down!! Believe me i know ;)

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

What system do they have in place if any to prevent people in counties that have been turning a blind eye for over 20 years(the Willits-Ukiah area in Mendo for example) from setting up shop, growing the majority of their produce on land in those counties, and only paying taxes/licensing fees on some tiny front in the Bay Area?

The way the laws were set up in Oregon, there definitely was a rush. Our prices plummeted about 10 years ago. $600/lb wholesale has been common up here for a very long time. The influx of out of state money has left us with no housing for anyone, and a ton of local people who are now homeless because their rents got raised and they got evicted so that their apartments could be rented to Californians moving up here to work in the cannabis industry.

Then you have the homeless camps full of out of staters who think that you can just show up here with no money and walk into the industry. I live here and don’t make enough to buy my way into the inside of “the industry.”

Mostly what they need are people with certain skills(chemistry and botany,) and then there are a bunch of retail jobs. But I live in a college town. So we have no shortage of pretty Californians to take those jobs.

Sort:  

Yep this is why i sold my business...

A wholesale Grow and extraction Company.. we made wax and shatter mainly

Very nice! I love me some wax. I just woke up and took 2 dabs lol. But yeah, I can totally understand why you had to shut down.

The way things have gotten in Oregon, we have companies still trying to sell stuff like live resin for $80+/g, but it’s mostly sitting on the shelf.

Because we also have places looking at the bigger picture, that realize that 60+ weed shops can’t survive in a city of 200,000, who are either taking losses or more or less selling at cost for around $30/g, because they know it means they’ll outlast the places that have overpriced product sitting.

I’ve seen how things work. I check quite a few stores menus a few times per week, and if something sits for a few weeks, they start dropping the price in about $10 increments(on stuff that started at $80-90 after tax) every week until someone buys it.

But it’s probably for the best. There have been times when I’ve taken too much advantage of sales, and by the time I’ve gotten around to opening something, it’s not the same as it was the day I bought it. Terpene depredation can even happen in a vacuum sealed bag.

Yeah its a trickey business, we would make bomb ass golden shatter, pounds of it. Then ppl would say is doesn't break nicely and not like glass.. LOL.

I used to think that kind of consistency was ideal too. Until I realized it’s damn near impossible to work with, either with a tool or by hand without little chunks flying fucking everywhere. So now I prefer something a little more snap n pull.

I supercharge most of my dabs with 99% THCA isolate crystal though, and it does seem to stick best to the glass consistency. But fuck I hate the little chips flying everywhere...

And yeah. People think they know everything. If it’s blonde an snappy it must be better than something darker and less snappy. Wrong. The darker run could be live resin and the thin layer of snappiness could come from a trim run. It’s all about knowing the source.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85