Goodbye Critical Widow

in #cannabis6 years ago

After more than a week of flushing with only water and these lovely ladies are finally ready to come down and be turned into hash :)
I've decided since this is the last time I will be growing for a while that I am keeping it ALL for myself! I am not selling any of it for profit.
I usually end up with about a quarter pound of hash for every pound of cannabis harvested. That's near 25% THC content on nearly every strand I grow! Not to bad for a self taught stoner ;)

I have used many different kind of lights throughout the years and although LED is really neat, I feel like they have some work to do to make them comparable to the High Intensity Discharge (HID) lights that I grew with previously. However, if you have heat issues or are short on electricity needs then LED's could be your best friend.

I know they start to look ugly when you flush them long enough but it is so incredibly important if you want a good smooth smoke! A lot of growers don't think flushing is very important, I am here to tell you IT IS! Don't put in all that hard work and time just to end up with harsh cannabis because you didn't flush out the chemicals properly. All that ugly shit gets cut off anyways so don't worry about it.

I am down to my last 2 rooms now and both will be done by the end of the month. This is the first time in 10 years I won't be growing and it is kind of a scary feeling... I have gotten use to being spoiled with the best bud around for a very long time and now I will have to depend on other people to provide for me when my stash runs out which is gonna suck!
I know it will be a nice change of pace to be free from my constant work, but I feel a bit sad knowing that I am giving up my favorite and only hobby. But we are moving on to bigger better things in life and when you have opportunity in one place that means other doors must close. So take my lead and stop trying to hold on to the past, you've already been there. Instead take chances with your life and follow your dreams, because I am proof that you can take the road less traveled (and) let me tell you something..... ITS AMAZING!

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

v+r

Much appreciated :)

Nice post, it is my favorite hobby ever! I Grow organic in living soil & never have to flush. No chemicals touch my dirt or plants & I am reusing my dirt again & again with minimal organic amendments & cover crops. Imo no till organic growing produces the best smoking experience as well as the most medicinal high, & it is dirt cheap ;)

Wow, I wish I would've met you a few years back. Sounds like you know your shit.. If I ever end up growing again it will be completely organic because it will be just for me, however when doing it for a career it only made sense to me to use chemicals cuz that's how every one i knew did it :/ I totally respect your style man, I'll follow you so I can see what you got goin on. Thanks for the comment, take care.

Go organic! I am a hobbyist who has expiremented a lot outside & seen what works in nature. Got some really good ideas from the mendo dope no till video with Minnesota nice for seed sprout teas & no till philosophy. Trying to spread the knowledge & pay it forward

Awesome post - beautiful plants!
Wise words about LED - it is indeed fantastic for cool temps and ecological grow-spaces.
So ... Out of interest - what are you up to next that precludes growing - can you share?

Happy toking!

Upvoted and resteemed ... and following you now :D

Yeah, my fiance and I have decided to become world travelers. Cant really do both unfortunately! I still plan on still teaching people how to grow and lending my experience to people who need help, but i can no longer grow my own.
Do u grow? If so what kind of set up do u have?

Thanks for the upvote and resteem, always extremely appreciated.

Ahh travel ... the BEST excuse or answer you could have for not growing!
I am just settling into Costa Rica ... getting my garden together - I have a selection of seeds mostly from Mr Nice as I rate their genetics highly! Great white shark (my all time favourite - from Shanti Baba the original and best!) - white widow - Skunk #1 - Jack Herrer - and Blue Dream... I have grown for 25 years now or so - I use sun light as much as possible but currently also have a bathroom converted into a small LED grow space to avoid the torrential rain we get here in the tropics almost every night! A green house with supplemental lighting is on the cards very shortly!
Really great to meet you moderndayhippie!

Oh yes ... what is your preferred method to make your hash out of interest? ... And what are your favourite varieties?!

Stay in touch and Steem on :D

Thats crazy u live in costa rica, my fiance and i are considering living there for 3 to 6 months after we are done exploring the u.s. i didnt even think to look if it was legal or not there (as i really dont care about laws lol). That is definitely a plus..
25 years? Wow, i bet u could teach me a thing or two about growing..
A green house is a dream i have for when i am done seeing the world. So i think u got the right idea..
My favorite way to make hash is with butane.. its fast and easy and has a great smooth taste for dabs.. what about u?
As far as strands go, im really not picky as long as i grow it! Lol. But amhurst sour d, blue cheese, blueberry, bluedream and og kush are prolly some of my favorites!
And it was great to meet u too, i will definitely be keeping in touch with u.

Wow that IS funny - I actually had a hunch you were coming to CR!! ... we must hook up for a smoke and a surf when you come!
        Sadly weed is not actually legal in CR but but personal users are not bothered - cool! Surprisingly expensive i have found... 5 to 10 dollars for a g of Columbian or local weed and 20 and up for skunk or "Creepy" as they call it here! With prices like these you will want to grow :D
        Mmmm I love making butane honey - so pure!!!! But actually I find that just becomes like rocket fuel, and almost as difficult to handle! - just too strong haha if that is possible!? I prefer processing manicurings with silk screen for more easy to handle smoke OR ice hash Mmmmm (If i had the cash i would get a Co2 extract making setup they look super cool!) - then I make fudge with the manicuring after light shaking!
        I love to juice the ALL fan leaves with a macerating juicer to make an exceptionally potent health booster - the list of things eating the plant cures is mind-blowing! From diabetes to Alzheimer's!
        Haha from your strain list I am guessing you are also (like me) a fan of Brownguy420 ... he LOVES amhurst sour d, blue cheese, blueberry, blue dream - that is almost his exact strain list ... is that you in disguise BG??? hehe

hit me up anytime! [email protected]

Great post..I agree with you 100% on the lighting issue... when i was growing I used 2 separate types of high intensity bulbs.. a metal halide for the veg room and high pressure sodium for the flowering room...
The flushing is super important too... in addition to straight water I experimented with crushed blackberry juice mixed in the water.. it also adds red color to the buds...
I hated giving up my grow room but its so cheap here now i can buy here for less than the electric bill used to be... not to mention the chemicals.

i have never heard of the crushed blackberry juice before, seems interesting if you like color changes. I turn the majority of mine into hash anyhow so color doesn't really matter to me at all. I guess I never thought of it as being potentially cheaper but I guess if I restock in the right states that could definitely be the case, maybe I'll get a good selection as well :)
I've seen in ur other posts that you live in colorado, that is where I use to live and where I started growing.. Colorado Springs to be exact.. u around that area at all?

I live in Littleton.. near Denver.. but I used to live in the Springs... Denver has better dispensaries and better grow shops. Plus with the competition here I can buy a oz of flower for $110.09 after paying 22% tax..
I don't smoke much hash tho... even when I was growing we used the excess for butter or wax...
The blackberry juice also provides the plants sucrose which promotes resin production during flushing stages...

Wow! I didnt realize it was that cheap now.. i guess i know where ill be going when i run out.. lol.. yeah i know Littleton well, my best friend lives there still. Maybe we will get the chance to meet up one day and burn a few ;)

Sorry. Patience is a virtue. I have no virtues.. I started without you..

1510498514684538725836.jpg

No worries man! Ive been dabbing since 5am :) lol

@orignalworks

"So take my lead and stop trying to hold on to the past, you've already been there. " wise words from our one and only @moderndayhippie ) i will always upvote the production of top quality weed !! smoke on ))

Thank you kind sir. I always try to put in a little wisdom into my post so the reader has something to think about. Anyways, true connoisseurs are rare these days so it's always nice to run into one ;) wish I could share some of this sweet bud with you my brother.

Federal Express ??? lol

When i was young and dumb i use to do that all the time! Lol

yeah but i guess Federal does mean Federal eh ? lol

actually its not federal at all! its just the name. sneaky bastards.

yes , just like the "Federal " Reserve, which is actually privately owned bank !!! I also heard rumours that the IRS is the same and not actually truly legal !! what do you say to that @moderndayhippie ?

Right, the federal reserve bank, is not actually federal (its privately owned), it has no reserves and it is not a bank.. i think it is the single biggest scam ever pulled on this country and the world.. and i can give u my thoughts on the IRS in 3 words taxation is theft!

I'm not a smoker anymore but I will always admire the beauty of the cannabis plant. yours look great. There was a cannabis cup in my community last night, it smelled great.

I can appreciate that :) thank u for taking the time to look at them and comment. You seriously didnt partake when cannabis cup was in town!?! Not even for nastalgia? Lol..

This post received a 13% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @moderndayhippie! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

🤖💬 This post has received a 14.29 % upvote from @iseekush sponsored by @netgodbeerus

Join our Cannabis Curation Team

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97