Sort:  

I just typed "nanny state" on another Steemit post about how an Italian Court ruled over parents who fed their kids on a vegan diet. Check it out here - https://steemit.com/news/@kevbonneau/parents-who-feed-kids-a-vegan-diet-may-risk-jail-in-italy-under-new-law#@spartanza/re-kevbonneau-parents-who-feed-kids-a-vegan-diet-may-risk-jail-in-italy-under-new-law-20160811t192531974z

Yea, this nanny state has infected many many aspects of our lives. I like to give a simple example of a nanny state. Car/motor vehicle seatbelts. Sure, they are important for your safety and increases your chance of survival in a motor vehicle accident, however I have an argument. Here in South Africa, you get about a R500 spot fine for not wearing a seatbelt and you are the driver (i think there are fines for other passengers too, but I have never witnessed one being issued for a passenger). Anyway, thats all very well and good, but why do I have to be fined while the action of me wearing a seatbelt or not only has an impact on me, and no other human being. Whether I go through the windscreen or not has nothing to do with me having to hand over a fine. An argument could be that it is for my own protection, and I am being forced to wear a seatbelt for my own good.
What about skydiving? Skydiving, by the same token, should be outlawed because its probably just as dangerous as driving without a seatbelt (assuming here, don't shoot me down).

Side note. One of My pet hate are those cars that beep at you like you are some old blind and deaf person. The little seatbelt sign flashing, and all you hear is "ping, ping, ping, ping, ping, ping".

That's why I go with the motto: no victim no crime. Police have become revenue generators instead of peace keepers here in the US.

No different here in South Africa.

A few years back the Metro Police was setup to police and monitor our roads, and "keep them safe"... the only safe they have been keeping is the safe they use to store our money when they pull us over or force us into roadblocks, making us late for meetings and life, all the while lawfully stealing our money. There's no keeping us safe.

I think we are already there, sadly. Our rights are violated daily.

It could be worse...just take a look at Australia. :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39