You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Over Proof Alcohol To Make Fully Extracted Cannabis Oil

in #cannabis6 years ago

First, I love how you made this stuff. Legit!!! I think this is an amazing skill to have under your belt. Definitely following you on this most epic of adventures!!!

Given the work involved, cost comparison, and risk. I would likely opt for wholesale 95% ethanol spirits.

Obligatory Safety Disclaimer:
Anyone unable to do this in a well ventilated location with proper safety equipment on hand, should also just pay a little more for bottle spirits.

Sort:  

Hi @massmedicinals!
If I want to buy over-proof alcohol in Ontario, I require a special license which I have to apply for every year.
The alcohol is 94% and costs $125 CAD a litre. I have gone this route in the past.
When I make it myself, I don't require a license and I was able to make almost 9 litres for approximately $50.
Once I prefect the process, I should recognize even greater economies of scale in being able to capture more alcohol at the correct concentration needed for extracting.
If anyone is considering taking this on as a project, you absolutely must do this in a well ventilated location and you must keep your wits about you because it is dangerous due to how flammable the end product can be.

95% alcohol (EverClear) is fairly cheap to buy bottled, around here it goes for $16-20 for 750mL. But that still might not scale up for what I believe you are needing.

I can remember making poor decisions a decade ago, cooking off 99% alcohol indoors on a flame stove, and considering it safe because it's in a double-boil set-up with windows open.

Oh, also if you're harvesting this weekend that sounds like a rather nice treat for thanksgiving. :)

Thank you @massmedicinals!
I really appreciate the info that you’ve been able to add to this post in regards to the differences between what you can buy “off the shelf” in the USA in terms of Over Proof alcohol and the costs associated with it. It’s a good comparison and record of what this time period is like for all of us.
Thanks for doing that. ;)

Seeing and reading about your capabilities, @rebeccaryan, your complement is well received. But at the same time I feel very junior in knowledge right now to what you are doing.

Totally ready to learn through your posts, and hopefully contribute a little knowledge back to you along the way.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66