A Christian Perspective on Cannabis

in #cannabis8 years ago

I am anticipating the day when I may enjoy some weed. My wife and I currently live in Kentucky where Cannabis is illegal for recreational and medicinal purposes. Governor Matt Bevin expressed support for medicinal marijuana during his campaign in 2015. However, legislators have failed to pass any bills thus far.

I imagine you are wondering why someone calling himself a Christian would want to partake. Well, for one, the health enthusiast in me is curious. Also, I do not see why something God created should be outlawed as long we indulge respectfully. There will be more on that later.

As many of you are aware, there are a plethora of studies regarding the potential health benefits we may derive from the Cannabis plant. I won't go into an extensive study here, as there have been a number of articles on Steemit alone already. We will touch on a few that intrigue me.

Potential Health Benefits of Cannabis

  1. Cannabis has shown to be effective in regulating insulin production. I come from a family prone to diabetes so this research is pertinent to me. The cannabinoid compounds in marijuana act as both a stimulant and an equalizer. It is similar to the effect that an intermittent fast has on the body. In research studies, those that consumed marijuana had 16 percent lower fasting insulin levels, 17 percent lower levels of insulin resistance, and higher levels of high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (HDL-C).

  2. Cannabis is showing promise that it can help to heal broken bones. Cannabidiol, which is an element of marijuana that does not get people high, aided the body in the production of collagen. Researchers said they found that the element “makes bones stronger during healing,” which would help prevent future fractures.

  3. There are examples of cannabis helping to calm and give focus to young children with autism. There is a story of a young boy who had developed non-malignant tumors that caused his autism, self-inflicted rages, and seizures. The young boy's parents tried for years to protect him from slapping his face bloody or beating his head into a wall to no avail. Finally, with the approval of their doctor, they decided to give him small and regulated dosages of marijuana. In their own words, "we had some truly amazing results." Alex, the young boy, started to explore the world with his hands - before using marijuana, Alex's hands were his enemy.

Why Not Partake?

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. - 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

The side effects of marijuana are well documented. People have experienced hallucinations, memory loss in the short-term and long-term, lowered reaction time, and general loss of acute cognitive functioning. Many of us have seen the addictive effects that marijuana has on friends and family.

My wife is studying for her Masters in Mental Health Counseling. You can imagine the conversations that ensue when cannabis is brought up. It is a delicate balance of using something God has created, and being able to ethically recommend a plant that someone may not use wisely. We have a responsibility to our clients and their well being.

Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God. 2 Therefore whoever resists the authorities resists what God has appointed, and those who resist will incur judgment. 3 For rulers are not a terror to good conduct, but to bad. Would you have no fear of the one who is in authority? Then do what is good, and you will receive his approval, 4 for she is God's servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword in vain. For he is the servant of God, an avenger who carries out God's wrath on the wrongdoer. 5 Therefore one must be in subjection, not only to avoid God's wrath but also for the sake of conscience. - Romans 13:1-5

As a Christian, I am also expected to obey the law of the land. It is above all an obedience to God, not just the authorities. This is far from easy, especially in the case of taxes and speed limits for me.

The bottom line, as the scriptures say, is that as a Christian my body is not my own. I am a son of God, and as such am expected to act, work, think, and eat in such a way that honors my Father in heaven.

There is still much research to be done as to the long-term effects of marijuana. If there is research that reveals negative consequences from even moderate and regulated usage, then marijuana is not something I will consume. Until then, I will wait out the legislation in Kentucky or perhaps if we move to a marijuana friendly state, I will cautiously sample some there.


Thank you for visiting. alt text me for more great content.


Image Sources: 1-2
Sources: Cannabis Health Benefits
Blood Sugar
Broken Bones
Autism Article

Sort:  

I live in Kentucky as well. It will be interesting to see what happens here soon.

Who do you like in MMA?

Oh so many to list lol. I know they are mouthy, but I've always been a fan of the Diaz brothers, crisp boxing and great jiu jitsu. Carlos Condit, Donald Cerrone, Max Hollaway... I mean the list could literally be it's own blog series. MMA talk is a little limited on here but I think like most other topics it will grow. How about you?

Lol, I understand! Cerrone, McGregor, Holly Holm, and Joanna just to name a few. Jon Jones used to be a fav; would like to see him straighten out.

Yeah I don't know if I've seen better striking from a woman than from Joanna. She just seems to get better and better! Yeah, Jones is the greatest fighter alive imo, I wish he wouldn't waste his talent. He's hard to get behind though. Doesn't seem like a bad guy, just seems to make stupid mistakes, and appears cannot handle fame responsibly.

Indeed. Excited to see Joanna's next fight and watch her talent grow. Jones may be fighting in July apparently - we will wait and see.

Normally I'm opposed to all kind of mind-altering drug use, I don't even drink alcohol myself, neither do my immediate family members.
But I do agree with you, that cannabis should be legalized everywhere, partly because of the health benefits you mentioned, partly because of its effects on the legal system and on the economic system.
Those who grow and sell cannabis products would no longer be connected with those who produce and sell harder drugs. Far fewer people would have to be prosecuted and go to jail.
And hemp the plant from which cannabis is made has a lot of beneficial commercial potential. It could partially replace cotton in cloth production and wood in paper production, while growing much faster than wood and in more climatic zones than cotton. And so it would have environmental benefits as well, reducing the need for cutting down trees.

That is a wise and thorough perspective. I had not even considered the possibilities with hemp.

In Canada, our current Liberal government is committed to legalization of Cannabis. It is very effective in helping to stabilize moods for many mood disorders particularly anxiety and bipolar disorders

It is only a matter of time then.

I say legalize it everywhere, it's less damaging to society than alcohol plus has many poetential benefits. My 78 year old father could really benefit from the pain relieving properties and some of the other benefits but can't obtain it legally where he lives either.

I am with you Eric. There are too many good properties that cannabis provides. I think if we legalize it, the criminality with it will subside as well.

I agree. I fear the reason it hasn't been legalized is a lot of money is being made from it because it is illegal.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27