You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What’s All The Hype About Edibles And Are They Better Than Smoking ?

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Great informative post. Love the pictures - someone is a great cook!
I have been doing some research on this the last few days and am finding consistency in potency being the major challenge.
For medicinal purposes I believe the tincture to be the easiest to control, would you agree? The tincture made the old fashioned way - alcohol such as vodka and kept for a few weeks in a dark cupboard shaken everyday.
Thats if people did not desire the psycho-active side effects and were purely after the cannabinoid health benefits.
Any tips appreciated - thanks 😁

Sort:  

Hi @lovelivinglife! Thank you so much for your comments and question.
I prefer to make infusions in a carrier oil (like MCT coconut oil) over alcohol tinctures or suspensions. This is because cannabis and all its cannabinoids are fat soluble and require fat to be absorbed. Without fat in the equation, the body can't absorb all of the available medicine. Also, there is another reaction that occurs between alcohol and cannabis...it doesn't make that much difference with only a little bit of tincture but when mixed with a glass of wine or a beer, the cannabis makes it feel like you've consumed 6 glasses...it (cannabis) accelerates the effects of alcohol. This is called cross-fading and needs to be undertaken with great care, if it's practiced at all. :)

Thanks for replying.
Am I correct in believing that the heat generated in producing the coconut oil will activate the THC, whereas the alcohol tincture, not being heated will only produce the THC- A?
I am really happy with the coconut oil I have made but the coconut oil I used solidifies which isnt easy to dispense.
If I didnt want the active THC and wanted to give the tincture to someone medcinally, would I just then have to mention not to take whilst consuming alcohol?
I do appreciate your insight - thanks 😁

I think this is the case but I have never tested the validity of it because when I have made an alcohol based tincture, I have always decarbed my cannabis first to fully activate it. If you do the decarb first, you’ll pull more medicine out of the plant. This is the same when you make your coconut oil infusion, if you decarb the cannabis first, then make your infusion you’ll pull way more medicine out of your herb. Also, if you switch to medium chain triglyceride coconut oil (from long chain) your infusion will stay in a liquid state and absorb faster once eaten. :)

Thanks - much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75