Cannabis males and femalessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cannabis7 years ago

They just recently started showing and here are some pictures.
Can you tell the males from the females?

The males will grow sacks of pollen while females will grow white hairs called pistils. These will grow on the head and between the stems and branches.
IMG_1174.JPG

IMG_1170.JPG

IMG_1199.PNG

IMG_1200.PNG

IMG_1194.PNG

IMG_1202.PNG

IMG_1190.PNG

IMG_1192.PNG

Sort:  

You're a day or so away from having to clean pollen out of your room, it gets everywhere. Balls on a stem are male. #'s 1,4 and 6.

they outside. Great job!

When it comes to growing, I just remember Rule #1
Keep those males away from those precious females!

This would be true if one were looking to harvest only buds, but if one were looking to continue a genetic lineage they will have to mate.

This would be true if one were looking to harvest only buds, but if one were looking to continue a genetic lineage they will have to mate.

And with the high seeds prices, that is a very good idea.

Seed Saving is the way to go

at this early stage he has nothing to worry for. But you got a solide point.

I live in Denver Colorado where marijuana is legal. @briandenver i've met people that mail out the marijuana to New York from Denver because they get twice the price. It sounded like they are using crypto currency as a form of payment.

Thats really interesting. There are crypto coins developed specifically for the cannabis industry to save on cash transactions.

I guess you could say the pot based crypto currency market is really growing. Pun intended ha ha Ha

When I drive down the interstate close to downtown Denver there certain spots that smell like skunk because of all the grow houses.

potcoins? dopecoins?

im holding:)

Well I guess it's time to start your own supply business 😉

Why? Would you like some? :) There is plenty growing in pakistan. lol

Haha nuuuuu. But when I go up North, I can maybe send you pictures of them as well xD

That would be amazing!

Are you threatening me!?

Nobody's threatening you??????

You can take me, but you will never take my bunghole, Hm heh.... For I am the Great Cornholio Hm heh I have no bunghole, hm heh...

Umm... Excuse me?

@leesmokestree I'll have what this guy's been smoking 😂

its a bot probably the same messages over and over again. worth flagging if you ask me. (i dwnvoted him in my post.)

for the last days im was a little curious if those pollen have "spruit" ( dont know how you say that in English) Because here it would take a few weeks...

"sprout"? ya i dont know the correct term either. the pollen pods have grown a lot but haven't busted yet. I separated them in the yard so they wont pop all over the other plants. Its been a couple weeks already so waiting to see what happens.

That's what I expected before the pollen bust it takes a while. It's not so dangerous as people say it is.

Goodluck

yea its not such a big deal. The males need some love too. And seeds are far more important then just buds. that way the grower can continue to work with the genetics. Just my observation but the cannabis community that i have encountered have a zero tolerance policy for males. I find that interesting because its the males that facilitate all the diversity of genetics. If you kill all the males and feminize all the seeds how can the plants genetics survive? looks to me like cannabis industry is being groomed for big commercial and gmo... get rid of small growers by ridding the market of viable male producing seeds.

I couldn't have say it better.

Don't mess with nature is my opinion. Im for improvement, but the "female" seeds are screwing the genetics.

And the new growers who probably only grow for the money don't even care.

But that just my stoner cents

You can also by female clones at the pot shops here in Denver Colorado. I guess the males don't have the big buds that the smokers like.

This post has received a 1.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @leesmoketree.

this is so cool. will be using this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36