What to do in California when you didn't bring any flowers? Become a Medical patient, like duh!

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

1. I ended up in South Lake Tahoe, California this week, and seeing as I flew, I didn't bring much outside of my vaporizer and 1g of oils.. well that just wasn't gunna do, so I started thinking about places to get some fire flowers..

We landed in Reno around 11am, and while I took a few fat dabs around 6am before we left Seattle, I was already starting to get bored of my Vape Pen, so I decided to find the closest recreational shop in Nevada, and after 5 minutes of googling I was utterly dissapointed. Nevada hasn't gone recreational yet! Oh lord, what is a stoner such as myself to do? I started considering my options; buy weed from craiglist advertisers, bother some random guy who might think I'm crazy and/or find the closest, headiest smoke shop and flat out go in and ask for an Oz, that should solve my problems right?

Wrong. Even thought the Buttermuffin Smoke Shop was the headiest around, being that I was in a tourist town in California where medical was still in charge, I was obviously told no, seeing as it was illegal for him to go buy me medical cannabis and sell it to me.

But, they did suggest that I just go apply for a medical card, which had never crossed my mind. Now don't get me wrong I was a medical patient in WA for years, but that was also 2-3 years ago now and I never considered the option that California allows out of state patients. My mind was blown.

2. Well, that almost worked, but at least I know now I can get a medical card, no where was that Doctors office again? Google fu incoming, ah there it is.

I spent roughly 30 seconds googling until I found the place I was suggested to visit, it just so happened to be 10 minutes down the road, score! I headed that direction, and went straight into the waiting room, where I met some funny guys also getting their cards and were also out of staters. We chatted for a bit while I filled out my paperwork and they basically were like 10 yr olds in a candy store.. it was pretty funny actually. I spent a bit educating them on the laws up in Washington and what not, then it was my turn to interview with the Doctor, so we said our goodbyes and they headed out to go call a medical delivery service we had discussed while waiting... or so I thought.

3. The Medical Card Application Experience... followed by my first visit to a medical shop in years! I was so stoked!

So besides the fact that California wants to know as much information as you will give them, the visit was a welcoming one, with zero hassle and a very quick in and out procedure. I spent a total of 30 minutes inside, talking, filling out papers and waiting my turn to be interviewed by the doctor. Once my turn came up it was actually kind of exciting, I hadn't been able to buy medical cannabis in years, let alone go into a building with bongs on each table and just chill and load a bowl after purchasing.. so I headed into the interview room and sat on a laptop and waited for the doctor to show up.

He was a nice older gentleman with a very serious yet calm demeanor, he went over my paperwork with me and asked me a few basic questions, I told him a bit about myself how I had been a cannabis advocate for years and work in the Recreational Industry, he then started asking me about any drugs that I take and what not, which I do not. Then after he suggested a few cannabis treatments for me, faxed over my new papers and my card was printing in the room next door, that was basically the entire process and it was SUPER simple and only cost me $80 because they gave me a discounted referral at the Buttermuffin Smoke Shop.

So I'm now a medical patient and head right over to the closest most popular medical spot, go inside, check in and make it inside all within 5-10 minutes. Next thing you know its my 3 buddies from the medical card place who supposedly wanted to call a cute delivery girl, they ended up at the same shop I had! It was worth a laugh or two as they were stoked about getting a cute delivery girl last I saw them.

Anyways, I spent a few minutes looking around then grabbed 1/8th or 2 of their dankest strains and 1g of Gorilla Glue Keif for $20, not half bad prices to be honest, oh and I even got a 5% off for first time patient, score! All in all I came out with 7gs, 1g of keif, a pre roll and a new pipe for the weekend. My first ever cali medical purchase! Woo!

4. The spoils of war, time for the hotel and then a smoke sesh on the beach. Welcome to California!

@Decentralizd First Cali Medical Purchase

Did you check out this weeks #KushSmokers posts?

Come join us on Steemit.chat in the BRAND NEW #KushSmokers channel for great #Cannabis content and chats!
https://steemit.com/cannabis/@kushsmokers/come-join-us-on-steemitchat-in-the-brand-new-kushsmokers-channel-for-great-cannabis-content-and-chats

Sort:  

Mind upvoting this my fellow ents?

https://www.reddit.com/r/trees/comments/6ga4yx/what_to_do_in_california_when_you_didnt_bring_any/

edit: And maybe follow us on Instagram too? We're recruiting new steemians there daily!

https://www.instagram.com/kushsmokers_/

I quite literally just did this on my way to the Cannabis Cup in NorCal last weekend. Having spent the last four years in New York at school, I stopped by 420md in Berkeley after lunch, the whole process took 45 minutes, found a coupon in the local newspaper, paid $40 for the medical certificate, $20 for the card, and was on my way to buying medical cannabis! So cool! California has existed in this libertarian state when it comes to weed, it's been interesting to witness.

Haha that looks like quite an adventure you had trying to get medical marijuana! I wish it that easy in Israel... We need to take normal medication for 2 years here before getting medical marijuana!

Lol it sounds like it was, but that all occured in the span in like 3-4 hours, and during this we also went to get lunch and see the sights. All in all, it was rather easy!

Thanks for a great account of your ID'ing and buying experience!

I'm glad you liked it! I have plans for authors much more capable than myself to get involved as well!

Got an interview today online with a writer from Dope Magazine who has a PHD, GG right?

Glad it worked out, bro -- looks freakin' fabulous!

Good to know that it can be done and it's not like you're tricking anyone. Good deal.

By the way, do those online medical card places work ? lol.

Congratulations @kushsmokers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am originally from Escondido, California.

Let me tell ya...It's HARD to find good flower there.

Yea you always gotta know the right people in these damn non rec states lol!

This needs to be shared everywhere

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93