Grow Journal w/ 30+ Photos and Sexy Lady!

in #cannabis8 years ago (edited)

Organic Outdoor Soil Urban Stealth Grow

Seeds: 3x Mazar, 3x Orange Bud
Growing medium: Soil
Outdoors

So, I recently finished trimming and drying the last plants. Everything's in jars curing now, so it's time to share the results of this year's grow! This is my third grow and I've got to say that a little bit of experience goes a long way! My yields have grown exponentially with each attempt at growing and I can't wait to grow with more space one day! This grow also included my first attempts at cloning, an experiment that turned out very well! I should also note that this is all medicine grown for personal consumption and this was not a commercial activity.

Seedlings

I grew my crop out on my rooftop balcony this past summer in the southern hemisphere. Planted the seeds in the first week of November. The seeds were all germinated in peat pods, with the fastest growing seedlings of each strain selected to go in bigger pots. When I pot seedlings, I like to put them deep in the pots, eventually filling the pots with more soil as the seedling reaches. In this grow, I was limited to about 1.5 meters of vertical growing space, otherwise the plants could be easily visible from the street.

Seedlings2

At a couple weeks in, I began feeding the plants the recommended dosage of Bio Bizz Bio Grow organic fertilizer. This stuff is amazing! The plants started cranking out nodes like crazy! Highly recommended!

patio

Having a little garden can make your patio so comfortable! I also had a few other plants in pots hanging over my railing, some aji peppers, garlic, and cherry tomatoes. Look at how eager my bong was to try the crop!

growing

SuperCrop

After about a month of vegetation, the plants started to get too tall. So, I decided to do some super-cropping, which is where you strategically break branches and then allow the plant to heal. After the first round of super-cropping, the plants bounced right back with a vengeance, within two weeks I needed to aggressively super-crop again. I really gave it to 'em, cracking the main stalk and bending the plants over near the base. Each time, the plants healed and kept right on growing. Also, notice I have a couple clones started on the right of the lower image.

All Better!

As you can see, you can hardly tell that these plants had their main stalks broken just a week or two prior to this photo. Throughout the vegetative stage, I super-cropped all the plants in order to minimize height, but also maximize the amount of sunlight each branch received. Notice the plant in the bottom left, this Mazar was the largest plant by far, so I called lovingly named it "The Beast."

The Catcher's Mitt

This is the biggest Orange Bud plant a few weeks into flowering, notice how it's shaped almost like a human hand. I did not intend for it to turn out this way, but super-cropping with maximizing sunlight in mind just led to this. I call it the Catcher's Mitt technique :-P

Before
After

In addition to super-cropping, I used some copper wire to do some low-stress training. Starting at the base, I wrapped the main stalk in wire, then gently bent the plant into the position I wanted it in. This helps reduce vertical growth of the plant and was preferable to breaking branches close to the flowering stage. In the images above, you can see how I bent the main stalk out of the way, making space for lower branches to catch up.

Before2
After2

Another couple before/after shots of the low-stress technique. Notice how much broader the plant seems, how much more surface area can receive sunlight now.

Baby Clone
Clones!

As an experiment, I cut a few clones. I cut two small, lower branches from the big Mazar and took the top shoot off the biggest Sativa. I put the Mazar cuts in small pots, so while they grew healthily, they never got very big. The top shoot of the big Sativa went in a bigger pot.

Clonezilla!

Pictured is the top shoot Sativa clone next to its mother. A worthwhile experiment, I'd say! My cloning technique was simple, sliced the branch off at an angle dipped in water, then stuck right into soil. No cloning hormones used at all and I had a 100% success rate.

Early Bloomer

One of the Orange Buds, which had lagged behind all the others in growth, was the first to start flowering. I began adding BioBizz Bio Bloom to the feed cycle as the plants began to flower. Interestingly, the smallest plant began flowering early and was the first to make it to harvest by almost a month! I dunno if an autoflower seed somehow made it into the packet or if Orange Bud has some latent ruderalis genetics, but it definitely was a bit odd.

Happy Plant

Happy Plants

Sunny Plants

Bud

Another Bud

Catcher's Mitt

BigBud3

Notice the how my inadvertent Catcher's Mitt technique made space for all those lower bud sites to grow and receive sunlight. My deck only received direct sunlight during the latter half of the day, so it really helped to train the plants to maximize their surface area.

Happy Clone

Happy Sativa clone.

Top Cola

Top cola of the Sativa clone.

Happy Beast

The Beast in early flowering stage. I dunno why the leaves look so yellow in this photo. That plant had some of the darkest green fan leaves I've ever seen. Quite a healthy plant. Never saw any signs of nutrient deficiencies on this one, even after I stopped feeding it!.

Heavy Buds

The Beast late in flowering period.

Happy Family

The whole family in late flowering stage.

Final Sunset

A life well lived...

The Beast's final sunset. She went in the darkroom for 36 hours before being harvested. You can't quite tell from the photo, but this plant had 16+ heavy colas on it.

Early Cuts

Some early cuts hanging in the closet.

BigBud

BigBud2

Top cola of The Beast, easily the biggest/densest of the harvest.

finalproduct

The final product. About fifteen ounces, or ~ 420 grams of dry organic flower, plus many ounces of trimmings I never weighed. I harvested a bit early out of paranoia, you could smell them walking in the street below. Prob could have squeezed almost another ounce out of the crop if I let it go another week or two.

Goodbye!

Thanks for reading! Can't wait to plant the next crop! Nothing like walking out into a sea of smelly green each morning!

Oh, and as promised, here is a sexy lady:

Sexy ;-)

Sort:  

So beautiful!

Thanks! It was a lot of fun to recount the whole experience!

That top cola is gargantuan!

Great journal

Very very sexy! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50