Saving Strains

in #cannabis5 years ago

What's up Steem! So the other day I discussed that I will be downsizing my stable of strains from 5, down to 1-2 strains. This will let me clear up space, and take the pressure off to keep strains around. Now getting rid of strains is something that I have a hard time doing. So one solution to this, is by crossing the females I have with a male. Lucky for me, I have one of those!

image0 (2).jpg

Peanut Butter Breath male eyeing a female Astro Beaver

Canna-page-divider2.png

Astro Beaver is a strain that smells exactly like watermelon, and strawberry jolly ranchers. It is a tough choice to get rid of this one. Fortunately I have some nice clones that have been outside, and starting to show some nice pre flowers.

image0 (1).jpg

I thought I would try something that I have not done yet with breeding.

image0.jpg

Wind pollination

Just like in nature, wind is a vital part to carry pollen to a female flower. In my case, a fan will do.

image1.jpg

Astro Beaver Breath?

This PBB male is very earth, and a tad sour smelling. I think it will be a great compliment to cross with my Astro Beaver. I also will use this male to cross my Tahoo Og x Og. I am hoping to get hundreds of seeds, so I can have for the future, and to spread the love. As some of you know, I have created Steem Og, in the process of creating Smoke.og. You think I should make a strain in honor of WeedCash? If so, what should I name it? Would you be happy to pay for shipping in Weedcash? Let me know in the comments. So far I have thought of Steem Engine Kush. Assuming that my Tahoo Og x Og produces seeds successfully. :) We shall see. Thanks for tuning in, and any tips is greatly appreciated. I am still learning, and having fun.


Just a guy having fun, hopefully one day, I can call myself a great grower.

5u4K9l8.png

JPEG_20180729_131244.jpg

Sort:  

I'm learning all the time, including from this post! Danks :)
One thing I do happen know about wind pollination of cannabis, is that it can occur even over large distances. Also, I know that one male can potentially pollinate millions of females. Sometimes, that's a problem (for example when trying to grow high quality bud without seeds, or when breeding plants). Even indoor males can pollinate far-away gardens because the pollen is microscopic, and travels really well. Great in nature, but bad in urban growing conditions! Around here (Vancouver BC), you can get beat up (or worse) for having a male plant outside while flowering. A lot of people's operations can be ruined by a single male being allowed to go into flower and spread its pollen. So my tip to other growers is: if you live around other people who might also be growing, remember to be extremely careful your pollen doesn't escape or get on your clothing etc.

Yeah totally! My neighbors actually have plants out, so I will keep my make quarnateed upstairs behind closed doors. I will also keep the female up there for a week, just to try to limit the pollen escaping. For I also got some females outside that I want to remain seedless.

The poor males...... so unwanted, and considered dangerous around females.... must be all that toxic masculinity I keep getting warned about by Gilette and FaceBook etc... lol

LOL! If only we could feminize them hahaha

Although we love to rep women as much as cannabis, please let people be who they are, including boys be boys! Very cute puns though it cracked me up. It's weird to see ads about Toxic Masculinity all over the lower mainland...some strange social engineering going on these days along with genetic engineering :O

Yeah as I get older, these ads i see for pointless shit, is very disturbing. Like why would a corporation really care about my poop? Very bizarre times we live in i suppose.

Yeah one day I thought up a way the gov could combat weed it they wanted to eradicate it just crop dust with hemp or cbd pollen every month or so! lol all the herbs would just turn to seed that season and the price would spike! Anyone growing underground would rule! Hope nothing like that ever happens, but we did just exit the “War in Drugs” surprised Ronald Reagan never thought if that? Remember those commercials “ This is your brain, This is your Brain on Drugs” The old fried egg commercial! Cool post!

Damn to ruins whole crop is sinsemilla with make pollen! That’s so crazy it would work. Good thing our government our idiots.

😎 my vote is #420! I’m happy to hear you are saving your great genetics. I hope you get a whole bunch of seeds.

Thank you jonyoudyer! You've just received an upvote of 83% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

PEANUT BUTTER BEAVER. HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA. THIS IS SO COOL. LIKE IT REALLY IS. (IN MY BEVIS AND BUTTHEAD VOICE)YOU'RE LIKE, MAKING THE FLOWERS , HEEE HUH HA, .. DO IT...LOLOLOL<3

Huh, huh, huh, shut up BEVIS! I am doing it, ;)

Pollen bags must be careful. Because of pollination. For the circumstances but ok. Have a nice weekend

Awesome.... I am always happy when I get at least one male to polinAte all the female flowers. Going to grow a few million seeds.

Yeah i have yet to let a male go to waste

Yeah.... there is Never ever any waste..... after pollination and even seed production I use all the leaves and flowers and stems to make great tea. Super mellow relaxing high

Post like this really highlights the work it takes to do this. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post!

I got a great idea for a weedcash strain name.. call it ... weed 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88