CBD Isolate with Terpenes

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

I thought I would share a little information on CBD and terpenes, as well as a preparation I've made with the two that I've been enjoying.

What is CBD Isolate?
CBD isolate is a chemically pure version of CBD, a cannabinoid found in marijuana. It can come as a powder or a crystal.
CBD is a non-psychoactive substance, meaning it will not get you high. It does however have a number of medicinal properties, including anti-inflammatory effects, anxiolytic effects, and reduced nausea.
It is perhaps most known due to a strain named Charlotte's Web, a high CBD cultivar effective at reducing seizures in a variety of epileptic disorders.

What Are Terpenes?
Terpenes are the array of chemicals in marijuana that give it it's distinct smells. Similar to cannabinoids, terpenes are synthesized and stored in glandular trichome heads on the surface of the plant.
Terpenes also have medical properties, and can modulate the effects of cannabinoids when consumed together.

Combining CBD with Terpenes
To make this preparation, I used some cannabis-derived blueberry OG terpenes, a micropipette, and a small glass vial.

Photo 1 shows the CBD powder:
image
Photo 2 shows the CBD beside the cannabis derived Blueberry OG terpenes (clear liquid in small glass vial):
image
Photo 3 shows the two combined in a separate glass vial:
image
Photo 4 is the two together on a dabber after mixing:
image

I made a rather pungent combination, using .2 mL for 2 grams of powder.

Review
Before mixing the terpenes in, I was enjoying dabbing the CBD isolate for its effect, but not so much its flavor. It had a strong chemical-like cherry smell to it which stood out when inhaled.

After mixing the terpenes with the CBD, the smell was obvious hugely improved. The blueberry og fragrance is always enjoyable, and I occassionally crack open the vial just to take a whiff.

When dabbing the CBD with the terpenes, I found d I needed to heat it to a slightly higher temperature than before in order to get it all to vaporize and not leave a puddle in the quartz banger.

Terpenes are naturally very volatile compounds, meaning they readily evaporate when heated, so I found it odd that higher temperatures were needed.

The combination also produced notably increased amounts of vapor, resulting in big clouds of pure marijuana goodness of the exhale.

It is difficult to say whether or not the terpenes improved the effect of the CBD or not as there is no psychoactivity to judge and I found it just as effective as it had been prior to being mixed.

Overall I would highly recommend this to anyone that uses cannabis for a medical condition but can't always use THC. The flavor is amazing and competes with some of the best extracts I've ever tasted.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jonchees! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jonchees! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

So, let’s take a look at some of the science behind using CBD for anxiety. Of course, the CBD industry is still relatively new, and there’s new research happening all the time. But there is growing evidence to suggest that cannabidiol (CBD) can help to reduce anxiety without any known side effects. In the UK, CBD oils are fully legal if they contain less than 1mg of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) per container. THC is a mind-altering drug often associated with Cold Pressed CBD marijuana. CBD has no "mind-altering" properties and is therefore completely safe.

I have never tried cbd isolate. But when I had serious problems with my nerves and sleep, I decided to buy myself CBD-enriched chewy snacks. It seemed to me a very convenient and innovative approach to solving mental health problems and I began treatment at home. Without any effort, I was able to restore my mental health just by enjoying the great taste of cbd chewable snacks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48