The Best Strain for Creativity - Things I from Running a Weed ShopsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

It was probably 2010, I was in Brooklyn sitting on my friends bed. He was telling me that his cousin trims weed in California and how there are tons of medical marijuana jobs out there. I get super excited and start telling him how that would be a dream job. I imagine this is the stoner version of how someone might feel if had to go to another country for a better job. You need to gain some type of cannabis citizenship, become a resident in a place where it's legal... then you can send goods back to friends in less fortunate states.

Fast forward a couple years, I'm living in LA-- applying to bartending jobs and accidentally applied to a Budtender position. Once they responded, I realized that I had sent my resume to a Medical Marijuana Dispensary and they wanted to interview me. I freaked out, of course I want to sell weed. This was perfect.

Now because this is technically medical we didn’t have "customers" we had patients. And these patients became a part of our everyday lives. Many of these people were such characters, so desperate for someone to talk to that we became involved in their lives to a certain level.

Some of the nicknames we used for our "regulars" were Mendo Dreadlock Guy, Mountain Man, The Chick that Works at the Cheese Store (we used to trade fine cheese for weed), Sharon, Wrestling Antisocial Kid, Girl with the Cool Phone Case, and That Really Tall Guy with the Scar. We barely remembered their real names, but we never forgot a dog's name.

So when I was working at one of these weed shops, there was a writer who would come in regularly. We called him, The Blue Dream Guy. He would only smoke Blue Dream based on my suggestion. We talked about writing and I shared that I’m a writer too, and I asked him what he was currently working on. Turns out he had sold a huge romantic comedy about couples on vacation that did insanely well and they hired him to write the sequel. However, they gave him tons of restrictions and he wasn’t comfortable with the new guidelines because it had taken away part of the charm from the first film. With the help of Blue Dream, he worked within their guidelines and was able to write a script that he felt comfortable with. Anyway, that weed shop ended up getting shut down and I never saw him again. The last time I saw him he said, "keep writing, write about anything " and threw a $20 in my tip jar. About a year later, I was sitting at an outdoor café eating lunch and looked up to see a huge billboard for the sequel of his movie.

Since we’re all just a bunch creators here, everyone asks what is the best weed for creativity. I would say hands-down the best most easily accessible marijuana strain for creativity would be Blue Dream.

Blue Dream is considered a Sativa dominant Hybrid. It’s got this relaxing but thoughtful high, with a very sweet taste and distinctive sweet smell. It tends to be lighter in color if it’s grown indoors and has a fair amount of orange hairs. It can range from very low-quality to very high-quality since it’s such a common strain people can grow it in so many different ways. It’s also the basis of many Cross-strains.

Why is the blue dream the best for creativity? Because the dreamy aspect of this strain makes you want to get comfortable and sit in one place. Most other Sativas tend to make you more energetic, but the hybrid side of Blue Dream keeps your body relaxed this gives you the opportunity to really enjoy the thoughtful head high. I’ve gotten great feedback suggesting this to patients over the years for writing, creating music, editing video content, and other creative work that you can do relaxed state. If your creative work is more physical than this could help but I would probably suggest a more active strain. If you're a dancer, for example, I would suggest another Sativa dominant hybrid - Pineapple Express. This strain that the movie made popular is extremely upbeat and tastes great.

Check out this video from Leafly if you'd like to see what Blue Dream looks like.

Sort:  

Sometimes I miss the Sativa brick stuff I got when I lived in Costa Rica. Sticks and seeds galore, but, so nice and mellow. Perfect for hot weather, and beach reggae parties :)

Congratulations @jennifercarmody! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jennifercarmody! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57452.21
ETH 3016.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36