Cannabis regains Fred's sense of smell

in #cannabis8 years ago (edited)

A few months back, Fred’s sense of smell was turned back on miraculously; where his olfactories were negatives, they have morphed back into rainbows.

It all happened when he started smoking cannabis again. We were not using it when we built our little oil factory; Fred had not smoked a joint in five years. He had continued to smoke the same roll-ups but not used weed in them so when his nose lit back up, we knew it was not related to tobacco: it was most likely the cannabis.

But that day was a Double Rainbow Day!

Other observations: the crop Fred was smoking was fresh. It might even have been a little green (he was “impatient to get going on the quality control as quickly as possible” – ahem). He had never smoked that strain – Super Sweet Tooth – before. We had not yet made any oil, this was dried bud being smoked.

Miraculous cannabis. What meds can do that? There are no prescription meds that can bring a sense of smell back. While I was researching this topic, I found this feeble FDA document. It reads:

Summary

There is no Loss of smell reported by people who take Marijuana yet. We study 2,148 people who have side effects while taking Marijuana from FDA. Find out below who they are, when they have Loss of smell and more.

http://www.ehealthme.com/ds/marijuana/loss%20of%20smell/

Note the use of the word “yet”! In my imagination, I see all these feds hovering and hoping that one of their guinea pigs will report not being able to smell their bs so they can blame cannabis and design a new pharmaceutical.

I also found this feel-good post from the Grass City forums:

I was born with no sense of smell. It seems to be hereditary as my Mother also has no sense of smell.

I started smoking weed 3 years ago. Until then I had no concept of what things smelled like. But, since I have started smoking, I have had glimpses of smell.

For example, yesterday I smoked then I peeled a banana for my daughter. For the first time in my life I could smell the banana! It was amazing!

I have also had the pleasure of smelling, on rare occasions--and usually only once: a cigarette, my own gases, the ocean, rain, and once I got to smell what my daughter smells like! It has been a wonderful couple of years.

https://forum.grasscity.com/threads/marijuana-helps-me-to-smell.514342/

When I read that I teared up a little: after a childhood accident, my mom had been left with no sense of smell so I’ve shared a lifetime with another person whose olfactory rainbows were dulled. Towards the end of her life, my mom turned to chocolate for some kind of stimulation - and I don’t mean the occasional elegant, dark chocolate cocoa bean, I mean a lot. It made birthday presents easy but there was always something a little sad about that.

This is a pretty new area, scientifically, but even the mainstream reports that cannabis use heightens smell and taste.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2555839/Mystery-munchies-revealed-Cannabis-use-heightens-sense-smell-taste.html

So at least we can say that it’s official: according to scientists, marijuana brightens your rainbows. And if you’re interested in digging deeper, thanks to Storm Crow at Grass City, here are a few more links:

Cannabinoid action in the olfactory epithelium (2007)

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1815290/?tool=pubmed

The endocannabinoid 2-arachidonoyl-glycerol controls odor sensitivity in larvae of Xenopus laevis. (2010)

http://www.jneurosci.org/content/30/26/8965.long

Endocannabinoid modulation in the olfactory epithelium. (2010)

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20865377

Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol may palliate altered chemosensory perception in cancer patients: results of a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled pilot trial (2011)

http://annonc.oxfordjournals.org/content/early/2011/02/11/annonc.mdq727.full

Cannabinoid receptor-mediated regulation of neuronal activity in the main olfactory bulb (2011)

http://www.fasebj.org/cgi/content/meeting_abstract/25/1_MeetingAbstracts/855.3?maxtoshow=&hits=80&RESULTFORMAT=&fulltext=cannabinoid&searchid=1&FIRSTINDEX=80&sortspec=date&resourcetype=HWCIT

And since the sense of smell is tied into the hippocampus:

Cannabinoids promote hippocampus neurogenesis and produce anxiolytic- and antidepressant-like effects (full - 2005)

http://www.jci.org/cgi/content/full/115/11/3104

Sort:  

This is true @healingherb! from the research I have read and with my own personal results, I can tell you that cannabis is both neuroprotective and neuroregenerative. It will grow new neurons (brain cells and it will protect existing ones). It should be routinely used to treat brain injuries and strokes. The olfactory nerve is no exception. I think this is happening for Fred just as you have described.
Do you know about the entourage effect?
There are certain foods that if consumed about 45 minutes prior to cannabis will increase the number of neuro-receptors open to bind to the cannabinoids.
They include mango, lemongrass, chamomile and hops to name just a few.
Fred could try consuming lemongrass or chamomile tea to see if that would act like a turbo boost to his healing journey.
Remember, we talked about cross-fading, be extremely careful mixing a really "hoppy" beer with cannabis. Turbo boost x 2.

Oh thanks, rebeccaryan, that is very useful. We know nothing about this! But there are gorgeous big fat mangoes in the fridge so that's a great start.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85