You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think Before You Drink - Alcohol Is Damaging Your Brain, NOT Cannabis

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

Interesting article @eatpraysex. I think a huge problem we have is that these studies take into account less than a fraction of 1% of cannabis users. 3,400 people of 50 million...That's like saying "I know 10 alcoholics and They are all the same as the rest."

I find the research remarkable - mainly because I used cannabis for 10 years immediately before I attended college, so 10 weed years according to the article - I went to college 7 years after highschool. I maintained a 4.0 GPA every semester I attended college and was doing better on tests than kids fresh out of 13 straight years of school environment. I have to say that I totally disagree with the "findings" of this article. There are factors that are ignored and that, in my opinion, negates the results. Did they test each individual in that study for depression, anxiety, stress and the environmental stressors in each of their lives? I think there are far more factors that cause memory loss and stress is known to be a debilitating disorder along with depression. Do they account for alcohol use by any chance? We have unequivocal data that shows it has harmful affects on the brain and cognitive function. I think there is too much rush to show results and not enough study and common sense used by society in deciphering this info or "data". I'm not saying there are no adverse affects to cannabis use, but I am saying I've yet to see them for myself, nor has anyone proven to them to me. I have used cannabis heavily, at times, and nearly every day for a span of 10 years or more. Totaling 20 of my 32 years on this planet. Give me that memory test..

Were these people studied ever asked about what they do every day? Where they work? Where they live? Their income and level of education? Were there baselines set for each individual for brain activity and normal cognitive function? Who's to say the "heavy users" we're unable to recall /memorize because of cannabis? It would irresponsible to say with any certainty. The science and data is great, but it is all trying to prove a hypothesis, rather than scientifically establishing credible research. Even the references that I listed are slanted in some way, and not to mention many are "paid for" studies.

It sure does make it hard on those that care to know the truth. Whether we use it or not, educating ourselves can't hurt. Unless, of course, we are trading one bag'o'bullshit for another.

I believe that everything causes us some harm - oxygen, water, food, emotions, environment, and the lesser mentioned: the mental health disorders that we still have yet to fully unravel. Hopefully, these factors are taken into account, in the interest of science. Otherwise, there is no merit to that kind of "science". Of 100,000,000 adults in this country that have used cannabis - why is the science so hard to find? Universities have been growing cannabis for decades and studying it, so it begs the question..

Edit: I saw this link in that article and had a good laugh - https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2016/01/18/scientists-have-found-that-smoking-weed-does-not-make-you-stupid-after-all/?tid=a_inl&utm_term=.83f6a181cfc5 it actually speaks to much of what I just mentioned:

"Other researchers have since criticized that study's methods. A follow-up study in the same journal found that the original research failed to account for a number of confounding factors that could also affect cognitive development, such as cigarette and alcohol use, mental illness and socioeconomic status."

Sort:  

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a well-thought-out response. I asked a sincere question, and you gave a sincere answer. In fact, I think you should take this comment and rework it into another post -- it definitely caused me to question my assumptions. And you are absolutely right, mental illness could definitely be the cause of memory loss and simply be concurrent to (or even a reason for) heavy cannabis use.

I truly appreciate you taking part in the discussion @eatpraysex. Thanks for sharing the article and reading the tidal wave of text 😋

It is a discussion I feel is worth the time and I appreciate yours, thanks again!

In the article you shared, there was a link that mentioned a few factors that had, but also some I'd never considered. If I rework the article, you'd have to get half the proceeds!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60704.04
ETH 2914.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32