2017 Recreational Marijuana Farm Recap(Part 2)

in #cannabis7 years ago

So in Part 1 of this series blogs, I covered the beginning of the season up to the harvest on our light dep greenhouse. So I will pick it up where I left off with the full term garden.

We had just harvested the greenhouse and got it all trimmed up. The full term had been in the ground for several weeks and was starting to pump, out of control!!! They were getting so big so fast it was insane, we were not totally prepared and as soon as the first storm came through it snapped all of our support netting and they came crashing down we had to call in the emergency crew to help prop em back up. That took 3-4 people working all day for 2 days, it was an expensive disaster and that was not the only one unfortunately.

IMG_1282.JPG

Now we are into August and the ladies are starting to bud up nicely. I am out one evening doing a feeding of compost tea when all of a sudden I notice something out of place. A giant male cannabis flower sticking out of the middle of one of the rows. It took me a minute to realize exactly what I was seeing but when I did recognize it I was heartbroken :(. I then douesed it with water and ripped it out of the ground and threw it away. I notice it had female parts on the bottom and male parts on the top, it was hermaphrodite! At that point I knew that our herb was not going to be sellable as flower and for a week or two had to get through the physiological effects of this crop failure. For those of you that don't know when you have a male pollinator in your garden it creates seeds in your herb and makes it hard and harsh to smoke.

Luckily THC still has value so we finished up the year and let herb grow until it was ripe in October. We harvested and dried it to prepare it to make extracts. Overall it was a mediocre year which is understandable considering how many great years I have had previously. As a farmer it is only a matter of time before you have a bad year. It also has provide us with motivation and new systems to prevent things like this happening in the future. This upcoming year is already off to a good start and it is gonna be a great season!!!

IMG_1185.JPG

Sort:  

the male was from a seed or from a clone ? Nice grow anyway

It was from a seed plant. Unknown genetics labeled #20. Thanks this year should be a rocking year!!!

Impressive grow. That seems like it would be very satisfying work.

Thanks marksheppard I am blessed with the privilege to do this for a living!

Nicely said:

I am blessed with the privilege to do this for a living!

I have a question, where you are in Southern Oregon. do you need some special license to grow recreational Marijuana, I think you do, am I right?

Yea there is state licensing here.

I love this flower:) Nice post!

I looked at your robust, numerous Marijuana plants and smiled big. You have a very special plantation.

I am an organic gardener, and my kids always told me that I should grow some Marijuana plants and earn real money from it. Who knows, with the law changing in Canada, maybe I will give it a try. I know that Marijuana plants are strong and grow fast like a weed ;-)
and that there is a whole science around the varieties, recognizing male and female plants while very young, harvesting and everything else around them.

Thanks, I am blessed to be here with this epic plant. I heard Canada is legalizing it in July, the entire country? I am looking into some Canadian Cannabis stocks right now. It is the perfect time to invest before it takes off into a multi billion dollar industry!

Yep, the entire country, but in meantime, many, many young people here still go to prison for possession, crazy... plus, there is nothing like your Recreational Marijuana Farm, at least not in Ontario. You can grow only Medical Marijuana, and the license is close to impossible to get...

As to the million dollar industry, yep, it surely is on its way, I get new and new notifications about various Marijuana stocks from MoneyMorning Profits Alerts. I am not into stocks though, just coins ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31