Steem OG - the pheno hunt begins!

in #cannabis6 years ago

I'm proud to be growing out some Steem OG seeds given to me by @jonyoudyer.

Steem OG?

Steem OG is a hybrid of several other hyrbids (you can learn more about the genetics here).

Jon calls it the first cannabis blockchain strain! Somebody may have already made a Bitcoin strain, but let's face it, it's probably slow.

Steem OG is an F1 hybrid and is not genetically stabilized. The good side to that is we get to "pheno hunt", which means look for interesting characteristics in the individuals within our population. Only 3 of my Steem OG seeds survived the germination and sprouting stages, but these healthy young specimens will do just fine!

Their sexes aren't known (ie: these aren't from feminized seeds). They're 3.5 weeks old.

Seedling 1

steem og 1a.JPG

This one has very round leaves, like little ovals or egg-shapes. Blunted (acute) tips. Leaf edges crenated rather than serrated. Secondary fingers curve around central finger.

steem og 1b.jpg

Early sex organs becoming visible at the 2nd node?

Seedling 2

steem og 2.jpg

Already taking on a different structure than the first. Leaves are more pointed, with acuminate tips. Leaf edges also crenated. Secondary fingers also curve around central finger.

Seedling 3

steem og 3.JPG

At first glance it appears to be similar to the second seedling, but on closer inspection, shares characteristics of the first as well.

Leaf tips are acuminate like the second, but edges are serrated, unlike either of the others. Something else that appears different is the secondary fingers pointing outward (similar to my Northern Lights seedlings), and not curving toward the central finger.

Analysis

What's clear is that I do have at least a couple different phenotypes, and possibly three.

What isn't yet clear is which of the differences I'm seeing are due to nature (genetics) and which are due to nurture (their environment and my care). I'm learning as I go, and don't claim to be an expert on this, but I'm sure to get a lot from this experiment/adventure!

Stay tuned and hopefully you'll learn along with me. Comments and support very appreciated.

DRutter

drutter steemit banner.jpg

Sort:  

Some good looking boys and girls :)

That first seedling is unique-looking.
I wonder if @jonyoudyer got some like that too.

Just gorgeous!!
Lovely seedlings.
<3

The 2nd generation is coming soon. Just think I’ll be able to show the next generation there ancestors via steem😉

You are now a Steem Og Witness.

Resteemed to my Steem-loving followers. They'll get a kick out of this!!

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55