Sexing the Super Skunks (day 54)

in #cannabis5 years ago

Welcome back to my medicine patch! It's day 54 for these Super Skunk plants, which I've grown from seeds here in my tiny indoor garden.

h1.JPG

There's 'H', and if you click here you can see H and the other 5 plants, as they were 11 days ago.

h2.jpg

A closeup of H shows tiny pollen sacs already starting to form. That tells me this is a male plant. It also tells me that the plants are about ready to begin flowering stage. They're just waiting for the mid-summer signal (a decrease in hours of sunlight per day). Once I reduce lighting from about 20 hours per day to just 12, the plants will bloom.

b1.jpg

That's 'B', another really healthy specimen.

b2.jpg

B is female. It's not easy to spot, but there's a tiny pistil (furry white 'hair') poking out where the stems converge. (For more info on sexing cannabis plants, see my friend Jon's post here.)

So I've got at least 1 male and at least 1 female - the makings of more seeds! I'll be trying my hand at breeding these plants over the next few weeks. I got the 8 original seeds from a friend in the Netherlands, where this strain was bred by the late Nevil Shoenmakers. Super Skunk is a quintessential strain, and parent to dozens of other popular strains.

My little garden has room for 4 adult plants. It would be great if there were 4 females and 2 males, but we'll have to see as the others reveal their sex in the coming days!

DRutter

banner 2019.jpg

Sort:  

Yes! I would not getting my hands on some of Genetics By Drutter!

They're nice healthy shrubs for 54 days and no fertilizer etc.

Wow, hemptastic results so far. Resteeming this post :))

How could you not sex a skunk with a trunk that thick?! :O hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83