It's all upside from here, my friends!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cannabis6 years ago

Welcome. Please grab a tea, a snack, or a joint. Enjoy the read.

Where a few days ago there was 1 top, tonight there are 2!

plants.jpg

Again, still, and always, I am awed by my companions the plants. Severed in a way that looked fatal, these pink kush plants found a way to keep going. Because it's "grow or die" and these plants know it. This is there one chance, their shot at life, brief as it is. They're already approaching their prime. Everything is fresh, green, healthy, and immaculate. No spots, no damage, no weathering. They're living in eternal late springtime. Long days, lots of sunshine, but not too hot. Perfect for strengthening the root system and growing more stems and leaves. These plants are choosing to grow, choosing to not die. They went from 1 top, to none. But then, to 2. There's no stopping them, now!

Gorgeous green growth, soaking up free radiation sent here by our star, doing what this plant has done for tens of millions of years. Adapting perfectly to climates all over the planet. Breaking down toxins, improving soil conditions for other plants and microbes, pumping out clean oxygen, healing the soil and air. It's got all it needs here on this planet, and in the DNA kept in its lovely gray-brown seeds. It doesn't even need US. It's been here far longer than we have! No, it's we who depend on the plants. Without them, us animals are all dead within weeks. Without us, they're just fine - indefinitely. Respect.

Join me in recognizing the plants

All I can really do is spend time around them, learn how they work, understand their needs, and improve my methods for caring for them. I try to give them only what they need to grow and perform all their functions to the best of their abilities. Right now, lots of healthy green growth. In a couple months, we'll focus on nice big flower buds. The same stuff they'd be doing on their own... I'm just maximizing their chances, stopping them from being eaten, preventing floods or droughts, and so on.

I've got a lot of love for the plants. There's a kind of spiritual side to it, I think. Now, I'm not the kind of person to fall for magical thinking, logical fallacies, or pseudo-science. But I DO feel connected to plants. No, I don't think they're conscious. I respect them just for being alive. They're ancient and simple, yet efficient and powerful living things. Their genetic lines go back millions of generations. Anything that can turn sunlight into food is incredible, from the algae to the oak. The cannabis plant is just one of many superstars in the plant kingdom. Our future on this planet is uncertain. Unless something really drastic happens, cannabis will be here essentially forever. Respect.

Am I, the grower, to credit for any of this? Hardly. I'm to credit for such a small part of the splendor of the plants I grow, that I might as well not be mentioned. Nature itself has crafted the plants to be perfect beings on a world like ours, filled with water and nutrients, and bathed in light. I'm a sincerely humble companion to the plants. Walking for a time beside them, nothing more. I don't own the plants. I am a beneficiary of their mighty biological machinery.

(Also, I have been 'tapping the green mana' today, so things are a bit tangentially philosophical!)

Thanks for listening.

Sort:  

I didn’t feel spiritual until I started growing cannabis 🙏

Same!
I was religious before cannabis, and spiritual after.

I was raised in a pretty anti religious environment, the more I work with plants, the more I think religions should incorporate horticulture into their practice. Show me a church that gets together on sundays to grow food & medicine for the community, & I’ll be there for every service 👍

This is absohemply hemptastic!
Resteemed!!

Zoomed in on that photo. Really nice detail, gorgeous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41