Do Plants Have Senses?

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Anyone who reads or watches me knows I have a profound love and respect for plants. Without plants, almost all life on this planet would die within weeks. They're literally keeping this planet alive.

I come at this from a scientific standpoint. I don't believe plants are sentient. I don't believe in magic. However, I'm certain that today's scientific body (as clever as it is) doesn't know everything, and is completely wrong on occasion. Therefore, I'm not unwilling to go where the evidence may lead me.

Also, I've spent enough time around plants (and plant biology courses) to have observed a few things.

Plant senses

Do plants have senses? Yes, of course they do! First, we should define what senses are.

Senses are physical abilities of organisms that provide data from the organism and/or its environment for perception and/or response.

There are dozens of known senses, spread out across life forms - animals, plants, etc. Humans have a handful of senses, including the 'main 5'. Various other animals have various combinations of senses, like bees seeing infrared, or bats detecting sonar, and so on.

Plants vary in their complexity but most have at least some senses. The more complex and advanced plants may have quite a few senses, including:

  • light (direction, intensity, wavelength/colour, etc)
  • direction of gravity
  • elevation above sea level
  • temperature
  • humidity
  • pH
  • chemicals in soil or water
  • CO2 and O2 levels in air
  • magnetic fields (direction)
  • infection or physical damage
  • touch
  • relative position of parts (proprioception)

And more, but you get the idea. Plants don't have nerves or brains, so their senses don't result in any thinking, or conscious perception, or pain, or etc. But they DO have senses, and those senses DO result in changes within the plant.

Some plants react to pH changes or chemicals by activating their immune system. Many plants move to face the sunlight (or move away from it if they've had enough). Some plants (including cannabis) move their limbs (fan leaves) to maximize sunlight exposure, even sensing the location of nearby plants, and moving in a way that shares space rather than competes for it. Some plants close up if they're touched or handled roughly. Some plants (like the Flytrap) can even move to 'eat' animals.

Even seeds have some senses! They can sense if it's dry, wet, or damp around them. They can sense gravity, temperature, and even tell what season it is. Some seeds can even sense light (to know if they're underground, or exposed). A seed is a tiny curled up plant, waiting in a suspended state, sensing its environment, so it can make its one and only attempt at life, at just the right time.

Plants don't think. Why would they need to?

No, plants don't think. And no, they don't feel. But they do sense, and they sense far more than most people realize. Again, I'm not saying those senses lead to consciousness, or intelligence as we know it. I'm merely acknowledging them for what they legitimately are - senses. Plants have a kind of awareness of their internal conditions and of their environment.

With little argument, the above can be found in any good biology textbook, or with a few quick internet searches.

Is there anything else?

I think so, yes. For decades, people have been denying even the existence of plant senses, but science and logic clearly show they exist. Roots aim directly away from the seed toward the center of the Earth, every time, and that's not a coincidence. Shoots aim directly AWAY from the center of the Earth, every time. And leaves angle themselves to face the sun - or even a bright moon. There's no thought involved, but there's a trace of something akin to perception. My late grandparents would probably know what I mean, and be able to provide some insights.

It's something you can 'just know' if you've spent enough time observing plants with a curious, open mind. Not so open that you believe plants have personalities, dreams, and fears! But open enough to see and feel - to sense - what is clearly there, regardless what any textbooks currently say.

Garden update

Have a look at this Steem OG seedling (6.5 weeks old). It's one of 3 Steem OG plants in my garden. The other 3 plants are Northern Lights females and I'll show you them another time. I want you to notice in the photo how the leaves are arranged. They're not overlapping, they make good use of the light from above. That is only possible because they can sense that light, and also respond with movement.

vgdrfr.JPG

If I move the light to come from the side instead of above, within half an hour, the plant will rearrange all its leaves so that they face sideways, yet still not have any leaves overlapping - very little light is wasted.

It does this with senses and movement alone - no need for thought. It does this unconsciously.

"Ace"

I'm calling it* Ace because the leaves remind me of Clubs (the card suit). In cards, Ace is the 1, or the first. It's also the most powerful! I hope the nickname, uh, suits.

* I say 'it' until I know the gender. Hopefully that will be soon (and I'm hoping for a female). Either way, I'm going to attempt to keep and stabilize the genetics, which came to me from my friend @jonyoudyer.

Ace is the most unique of the 3 Steem OG plants so far, and already has an interesting scent coming on. It was recently topped, and has 2 healthy growths where there used to be 1.

Grow in Peace

touch.JPG

I think I touched on everything I wanted to, so thank you for reading, and until next time.
DRutter

drutter steemit banner.jpg

Sort:  

It wouldn't be a weekly re cap, without Drutter in it ;0

Haha thanks guys, lemme check this out. :))

I feel like a plant during yoga sometimes when I root down, reach up, and spread my fingers and toes, but consciously unlike a plant.

The @GirlsofGreen like to identify as plants too. We're rooted deep, growing....and spreading out? ;)

Like a Hydra, cut one head and two appear in its place.

They do! And they make beautiful music as well... ;)

LOL "interesting" stuff there.... heheh

buenas tardes@drutter,saludos y continúe con sus informaciones

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41