1 Month old! Steem OG & Northern Lights indoor garden update

in #cannabis6 years ago

Check out the unique leaf structure on this Steem OG seedling!

Rare phenotype?

6.JPG

Not only are the fingers short and stubby, and their tips acute rather than acuminate, but the fingers curve inward toward the center, giving the plant a non-cannabis appearance.

This could be something I'm doing (perhaps this plant differs from the others in that there are bug larvae in the roots, or the soil pH is different than the others, or it was nearest the window and exposed to chilly temperatures).

But since these Steem OG plants are F1 hybrids, we know the genetics have not been stabilized yet, and the plants should be slightly different, like human sisters are. It's quite possible this is just how the strain sometimes expresses itself. In which case, I'm probably going to want to breed it. I'll get to that in a later post!

Culling the weak

I think that was the name of a Magic card? Anyway, of my 5 Northern Lights plants, 2 are showing serious problems and need to be tossed. Today is 1 month since they germinated. They've had nothing but dirt and water.

1.JPG

This poor specimen has been trying REALLY hard, but not really getting anywhere. There was a problem during sprouting, and it was never the same since! It had a crumpled half-leaf for a couple weeks, then sent up a short stem to a new node of 3 deformed leaves. And then it did ANOTHER node (without putting up any stem) which was also a deformed triangle.

2.JPG

A for effort, anyhow. I could use the light (and soil) elsewhere, and this isn't likely to resolve itself. Chop.

3.JPG

That one also got chopped. It was previously known as "Legs", and was the most developed of them all for a while, but the latest node has very stunted leaves, which are pale and appear to have stopped growing. I think something was wrong with the roots.

I reconditioned the soil and shared it with the other plants. Yes, any infections have now been shared, too, but I'm so poor I can't spare funds for dirt right now. I guess I'm dirt poor.

Here are the 3 Northern Lights seedlings I have now:

4.JPG

And here are my 3 Steem OG seedlings now:

5.JPG

Thanks for following our adventure!
DRutter

drutter steemit banner.jpg

Sort:  

They look like minty maple trees! So cute :)

Interesting leaf type, indeed! They look kinda like cannamaple hybrids. They're shaped like indica but spiky like sativa? hmmm not sure

Yeah Steem OG is a hybrid of hybrids of bybrids, so I suppose some interesting traits might show up. We'll see!?! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56