You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Majority Of Patients Prefer Cannabis To Opioids For Pain Management

in #cannabis7 years ago

Great post! We should absolutely be free to decide what we do with our own bodies. We are moving toward legalisation of cannabis for medical use here in Ireland, but the idea that there should be legislation at all is ridiculous.

Sort:  

I live in Ireland and have been waiting for ages for it. I asked my doctor recently about when we might expect legislation to be passed... His reply was "honestly, I wouldn't expect it to be within the next few years in reality." They have said that they are only accepting for three reasons...certain form of epilepsy, with chemo, and MS. They are not considering it for pain relief as they say there is no proof of any relief!

Rubbish! It is proven that it is efficacious in pain relief. I'm in pain 24/7, and am prescribed drugs that have deadly side-effects, which I refuse to take. Breaking the law (my physio actually recommended cannabis...unofficially) is my only choice.

Also add my regret and sympathy, katdvine ... if you can get anything as small as even a half oz of street cannabis, make some of this stuff ... https://steemit.com/cannabis/@lightmatters/super-easy-cannabis-infused-coconut-oil
Don't worry too much about strain, even just OK weed will work. I think the lower THC content is better as it will have inherently more CBD. I've been making my infusion for about 4 years. It is very effective. I have a guide to dosing and calculating converted THC content in the post.

Sorry to hear that @katdvine. 24/7 pain is hard to imagine. I guess the best you can do with ridiculous laws is to ignore them. That's what I do ........but don't tell anyone!

Thanks for your reply. It is ridiculous, but then it's all about money and big pharma as usual. The physio knows several patients who also use cannabis, and it works, and recommended it to me...but it's ridiculous that we have to break the law and risk prison just to be able to have a pain free life.
If only medicinal cannabis were to be legalised, it would actually cost the health service less, free up hospital beds and free up doctors waiting rooms. The prescriptions for Nsaids and Opioids costs the government far more, plus they actually exacerbate the condition and pain in the long run (they cause eroding of the cartilage). I'll upvote when I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45