U.S. Gov[ernment] Will Legalize Marijuana on August 1

in #cannabis8 years ago

Great news! (Assuming the article is true--the Santa Monica Observer appears to be a real newspaper, but this article does not follow proper journalistic standards. See here)

"The U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration will reclassify marijuana as a "Schedule Two" drug on August 1, 2016, essentially legalizing medicinal cannabis in all 50 states with a doctor's prescription, said a DEA lawyer with knowledge of the matter."

Source: U.S. Gov't Will Legalize Marijuana on August 1

Sort:  

I definitely was suspicious at first, but the updates with the Denver Post eased that a bit.

Personally, I think it's a great change. I'm just not excited for the ensuing legal battles between anti-marijuana proponents and the fed. I do like that this is a step towards recreational legality in more states. Should be an interesting story to watch progress.

It seems you have presented both sides of the story here, which I think is always a good idea!

http://www.thedailychronic.net/2016/58940/no-dea-will-not-legalize-marijuana-august-1/ -- which you linked to -- complains that the DEA lawyer is an anonymous source, which lowers credibility:

In rare cases, one source will be sufficient – but only when the information comes from an authoritative figure who provides information so detailed that there is no question of its accuracy

The article goes on to say that the reclassification could indeed happen on August 1st, so we'll wait and see. It's not too far away!

Thanks for sharing this!

That's my birthday! I guess I know what to ask my friends for my birthday :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74