You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: APHRIA PARTNER TETRA BIO-PHARMA LAUNCHES CANNABIS OIL authored by coinmaven (MightyMaven on Motley Fool)

in #cannabis7 years ago

But if it is important to do it, what is "not important", that then makes that which is "unimportant" to be important, by the very definition of it.

That saying of Gandhi's, it reminds me of taking out the trash. I believe he was thinking of such trivial daily things that we all do. For even a man as important as he still had to do such unimportant things like take the trash out, sit on the pot, check the mail box. I understand his saying this way, "So many things you do throughout the day are of little importance to you in comparison to your highest goals you reach for, like taking out the trash, but it is still important to do them, if you want the house neat and orderly, for instance.

Someone told me, Look, time is money. My time is very important. That twenty minute delay cost me a lot because in that amount of time I often make like $10,000 in a day. So I replied, So you don't take the trash out anymore because that's costing you $10,000 dollars? Of course he does. But it is of such little importance in contrast to his knowledge in business, and is something he could hire anybody in the world to do, unlike hiring for a helper in his business, which requires much greater skills.

l don't take Gandhi too seriously on this quote, also, because he was a very humorous man, and I see a lot of humor in this quote, and he used it in humorous ways as well, humorous moments. I will add that if our over-reaching goal is of the highest order, then all the trivial things we call trivial, they take on great importance for they all assist in reaching that highest goal.

So to quote Gandhi with my paraphrase, I would say:
Taking the trash out daily is of no great importance, but it is important that you do it.
Brushing your teeth daily is of no great importance that you can't miss a day, but it is important that you do it.
Walking the dog, brushing the cat, is of no great importance that you can't miss a day, but it is important that you do it, nevertheless.

Another paraphrase is:
Many things to be done are of little importance, but it is important that they are done.

Thanks for your thoughts, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60