Too Many Weed Shops?! High On Dispensaries #5steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

Just how far is this whole Legal Pot thing going to go?

In Colorado, it's not showing signs of slowing or stopping anytime soon.


yo.png

Howdy, everybody! In this issue of High On Dispensaries (Issue #5), I will address the following important question from my little point of view:

Are there too many dispensaries?

As a manager of one of the first dispensaries to hit the recreational scene in Colorado, I have heard plenty of feedback on this question. Allow me to elaborate.


I live in an extremely remote part of Colorado. The San Luis Valley is sparsely populated by farmers, ranchers, homesteaders, etc. There are a handful of small towns separated by straight stretches of highway.

When High Valley Retail Cannabis came in, it was the first dispensary in the valley. It was received with welcome by some, and adversity by others.

nopressure.png

Over the last few years, more dispensaries have popped up all over our valley. The voters of each small town have been able to decide the dispensary fate of their town, which has created a variety of reactions from the people.

Basically, folks are gradually making the transition from buying their cannabis from black-market dealers to shopping in a licensed store. This means that the number of customers available is constantly increasing as people make the switch.


That brings me to the current dispensary mayhem that's happening in Crestone.

Remember how I told you our shop is in the middle of nowhere? Well, about four months ago, another dispensary opened in the middle of nowhere, less than two blocks away from our shop.

question.png

I must admit, it felt a little strange at first, to have another pot store across the street in such a tiny rural town. My customers loved to laugh and roll their eyes, saying it was a "ridiculous oversaturation of a small market."

But our business didn't really suffer, and theirs thrived.

bulb.png

Then it occurred to me...

There are more consumers of cannabis out there than anyone knows, I think. As, one by one, they realize that their money is better spent supporting the legal industry, they will continue to come out of the woodwork in huge numbers.

genius.png

Most of the small towns in the valley have two or three liquor stores, so why shouldn't they all have a dispensary?


But Wait! There's More!

Let me get to the reason I decided to write this post today. This morning I discovered that a new recreational dispensary will be opening its doors tomorrow, right here in Crestone. It will make the third dispensary in a tiny area.

I'm incredibly anxious to see what happens with our tri-dispensary situation in the coming months. The winter here is hard and long, and we don't see that many tourists.

So... Are there too many dispensaries?

nope.png

Nope! Not by a long shot.

The companies, products and innovations that are emerging from this industry are a truly inspiring example of capitalism at its finest. These products actually work, and we've barely even begun research.

So bring on the dispensaries!

Bring on the weed!

Bring on Health, Wealth and Happiness!



images from pixabay and bitmoji

Sort:  

Bring it on! Can't wait until January 2018 when CA goes recreationally legal!

Sweet! That's so soon! I'll have a reason to visit California... 😂

Saturation Brings Competition

and competitions in the quality department are good for cannabis and the consumer. :)

Yes!
There's plenty to go around, especially since the competition are illegal cartels.

It looks like our area is shaping up to be a market center for cannabis. There are tons of licensed commercial grows here in the valley, and the number of shops keeps increasing. Pretty exciting stuff!

Awesome :)

I think its about time that we have dispensaries in all 50 states, that way I can take my ganja on the plane any where I go.

Absolutely right. I can almost see it now...

United High Airlines - Where Vaping is Welcome
😃 😄 Thanks!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

You're always there for me, @minnowpond1!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36