Christania, A city within a city. The free city in Copenhagen where buying cannabis is supporting the community

in #cannabis7 years ago (edited)

@rebeccaryan mentioned that she thought a lot of people, including herself, would like to know a little bit more about Christania.

So here we go!

christania.png
The flag of Christania


What is Christania?


It is the place where pretty much everybody from Copenhagen gets their marijuana/weed/hash, it is the place from where Lukas Graham is born, it is the place where I have been high multiple times and a place that was the reason behind my stupid debt in 2013.

Well..All of the above is true, but there is more to it. In 1971 a large group of people broke into an abandoned place in Copenhagen. It was in the beginning used as a playground for their kids, but later that year they formed what is now known as "Christania".

Their vision was and still is:

To create a self-governing community run by our own laws. The laws are independant of the goverment and so are our economy.


What is it now?


Well you can still say it is a playground, but the playground is for adults.
Now Christania have turned into a place for organized crime and the place to go if you want marijuana. They only sell marijuana, and not other forms of drugs, buuuuut the police tend to find other kind of drugs when they do their annually raid.
So right now, a place to hangout, have fun, buy weed, smoke weed, listen to music etc. Because of this, I guess, Christania is now the fourth most visited tourist attraction in Denmark. Number one is the Little Mermaid if you hadn't already guessed.

tumblr_llqrwjaTvX1qzi7dao1_500.jpg
Not her.tumblr_maih9qNtIL1qato9no1_1280.jpg That one, unfortunately.


How does it look?


Actually it is illegal to take pictures inside Pusher Street. Pusher Street is the street where you buy your cannabis, but of course google helped me. I never had the balls to take pictures like this..freetown-christiania-6[6].jpg ### The main entrance

freetown-christiania-4[2].jpg
An example of how they live. I think the population of Christania is around 700.
freetown-christiania-11[2].jpg
A standard shop inside Pusher Streethash-markedet-akc-christiania-pusherstreet.jpg
I have done a deal like this hundreds of times. freetown-christiania-9[2].jpg

Some art inside Christania

The rules on Pusher Street


  • Dont run (it causes panic)
  • No photos
  • No hard drugs
  • No stealing
  • No guns
  • No bulletproof west

Lukas Graham and Christania

Lukas Graham. The guy who sings "Once I was 7 years old, my mama told me....:" was born and raised in Christania. He often performs in a Christania shirt. (Christania Sports Club)dma_-_danish_music_awards_2012_i_forum_i_koebenhavn_roed_loeber.jpg

This is the official shirt for CSC

If you would like to see how Christania looks while listening to one of his songs I recommend watching this:

Thanks for listening and reading!

Dont forget to resteem, upvote or follow if you liked this post. You have nothing to lose, only to give.

Follow @arsenal49

Sort:  

Love Christiania - its my neighbourhood in Copenhagen. An oasiss in the middle of the city.

Agree. I love the vibes at summer time!

Thanks Arsenal49, that looks like a pretty sweet place. How big would you say the whole area is?

Well..That is a tough one, because there are places around the near by lake that is also called Christania, but if we only take the famous part of it into consideration, then I would say about 4-6 football fields. You can seriously walk from the main entrance and across the whole place in 2-3 minutes. The reason why people take longer is because there is so much to see. Or buy ;)

Wow, this place sounds incredible! Perhaps one day an Anarchristania gathering will be held, similar to Anarchapulco.

Haha who knows! Thanks for reading! :)

I think I saw this place on Trailer Park Boys. haha. cool, i hope to visit there someday.

You should! I bet it is quite amazing for tourists.

Thanks for that, very interesting

No problem :) I hope you enjoyed it!

Great place, this is on my travel list now.

Thanks for sharing.

No problem! Thanks for reading. Feel free to follow, or resteem if you want to let the world know about this place :)

Godt med lidt Danmarkshistorie. Jeg har delt den så verdensfolket kan få mere glæde af det.

Tak for det! Det sætter jeg pris på! :)

Good post kidda but have never taken marijuana .Cant see it being good for you but then again I know nothing about drugs

If you know how and when to do it, It can be amazing, but I did it way too much and for the wrong reasons. Smoking weed and watching a documentary can be some intense experience!

I finally found this @arsenal49. It looks like an exceptionally creative place. I didn't realize that it is so heavily visited by tourists. No wonder they don't allow photographs. It would be hard to live there, I think. You'd always feel like you are performing for the entertainment of others. Can anyone move into the community and live there?

Thanks for taking your time to reply. Yes they can, but you have to know people who live there to even have a small chance of getting an appartment or house. I think the reason that you cant take photographs is that the dealers don't want pictures of themselfes on the internet. Some of them can be ordinary dads working a regular job.

This post should have really shone for you...we need to work on your tags because not many people are seeing this. It's a nice "travel" piece, a "story" a fit for "til" (today I learned) and a great "Steemit" general grow the platform piece, if let's say you went and taught one person in the community there about Steemit and how crypto-currencies work. You could do regular updates about your interactions. FYI: first tags can't be changed the other 4 can...I just don't know if it's too late or not, but I'd be tempted being as you are only sitting at 30 cents. Just a couple of thoughts/suggestions...not telling you what to do, but acknowledging that this post is worth way more...it just isn't being seen.

Wow! Thanks for the feedback. I really need to work on my tags. I will try to change them now, and see how it will work out. Thanks you so much for the feedback!

I think it is too late. But this feedback was amazing! :) Thanks!

It's help a little. Let me take a crack at it. :)

Been at least 20 times, what an amazing place.
You forgot to mention the its the birth place of the Christiania bike :)

Ah yes! I tottally forgot that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46