My FAVORITE Cannabis Resources

in #canna-curate6 years ago (edited)

Where Does The Golden D Turn To For Growing Help?


When you have to travel over an hour to get to a certain specialty store, you MAKE SURE you have your shopping list ready and up-to-date. I learned early on when I moved rural and the closest grocery store was almost two hours away that you get everything you need; and then some. Because if you forget something... it waits until the next month's trip to the city. (Yeah I learned this the hard way a few times... but no more)

And this definitely applies to the items I need to grow my cannabis crop(s). From nutrients to coco-coir soil to CO2 bags and all the other necessities to have a high yield.

1mag.png


When I go to the hydroponics' store I will get my nutrients, any extra nutrients that don't come in the Flora Series package (Cal-Mag and extra Rapid Start), the coco-coir soil if any more is needed, the CO2 bag for the next grow(s) and whatever else I may need. Plus I always chat it up with the guys there. They will offer up advice and suggestions; but are never pushy about you buying EVERYTHING.

Sometimes I Rely On Home Delivery & Online Purchases


This book came highly recommended by three different people (yes, one was the hydro store guy) and after I kept hearing the same phrase ("this is a must have for growing...") I knew I had to get it. But it doesn't come easily available in my little town.. so online I went to buy.

It covers everything from the history of cannabis to common lighting issues to how to plan an indoor grow and how to SCRoG. It is in layman's terms, which I really appreciate. There are some illustrations and in the center of the book are some colored photographs, but what really makes this book a must-have is the the ease of reading and comprehending what the author (Greg Green) is trying to relay to the reader and grower.

I had purchased another book last year when I planted my first seed of cannabis, but that book was so technical I felt as though I needed a botanist's masters' degree to understand it.

My grow tents, lights, temperature monitors and light bulb replacements all come from online purchases. The prices are usually MUCH better than the hydro store; and since I have "free two-day shipping", this is where I prefer to buy these items.

Online Resources

Some of the best places to find answers is obviously to google the question you have. Which I have done more times than not since entering this cannabis growing venture. From what light requirements for the size grow tent I have to how to lollipop and FIM the plants. There is so much to know and so many precise processes you have to know; you don't want to go into a procedure of FIMing or topping not knowing exactly what the difference is between the two techniques.

HECK, I just learned more about mainlining (manifolding) last week and am considering this method on my next crop and grow. But before I would actually attempt it, I will be watching more YouTube videos, reading more about it and researching it.

YouTube videos are a great resource for beginner growers like myself. I will watch four or five videos of one topic before attempting. Plus I'll have my tablet right handy when I do the procedure so I can revert back to the video; making sure I don't miss a step or cut something the wrong way.

A YouTube video is how I learned how to clone plants, how to lollipop the plants and even how to construct my own ventilation system. thank you YT

I have my favorite YT channels:

There are so many more but these are ones I tend to gravitate to when I have an impending question and concern.

Websites

  • Leafly - There's an app for this website which I have downloaded to my phone and both tablets.
  • Grow Weed Easy - This was my first go-to website especially for nutrients or plant disease and nutrient deficiencies

Having all this information at the drop of a hat and at my fingertips 24/7 makes me wonder how growers used to get their information. There were no books at the library about growing cannabis. There was no internet, Google or YouTube. You planted the seeds, watered them and hoped for the best. Nutrients were not heard of or used. It was plain and simple luck.

PLUS.. the quality seems to be better now... Mr Golden D agrees. He refers to the olden days of weed growing... (and I am quoting here)... "All we had was dirt weed. We didn't know what we were doing... it was skunk weed. Nasty..."

So what are some your favorite resources for growing, information and supplies?

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

howdy there @goldendawne! wow what country to ya'll live in anyway? lol. Two hours from the nearest grocery store? I didn't think there was anyplace in America that was two hours to the grocery store! amazing. no wonder you're such a great planner!
my vote is at 50% so I'm charging today.

lol- the two hour drive to the good (and real) grocery store was when I lived further north. Now its only about a 20 minute drive.

oh ok! you lived even farther North?? ya'll are a bunch of Eskimos up there, ya need to move South, maybe Texas! lol. well I'm glad it's only 20 minutes now, that's workable. God bless you both!(plus the plants!)

These days there are so many sources of growing knowledge, that it's hard to wrap your head around it! I remember when the Internet was taking off there were only few and it was long way to variety of forums, blogs, vlogs and YT channels, that we're draling with now. And then online shopping changed everything :)

Oh I know! When I am looking for information I will read a few articles and watch numerous videos before deciding what is what and the best way to do things. There are so many conflicting things out there; I do what I feel is best for my plants.

I had to go into town yesterday and I timed how long it to me to get there. It was a 52-minute ride just to get to the nearest big grocery store or a big hardware store. I have small stores about 20 minutes away but the cost is more than double there. If it is one thing I will make the 20-minute drive but major supplies it is an all day adventure for us.

oh YES!!! I remember those days.

I would pack up the SUV, my two daughters (who were great helpers at shopping and being frugal) and three HUGE coolers. We'd make a day of shopping- hitting the Krogers, Aldi's and Gordon Food Service. It was an all day venture- but the real work was when we got home and had to UNLOAD and put everything away- UGH that was the worst of it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61726.60
ETH 3041.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86